1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Custom swype skin help...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GGx2, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. GGx2

    GGx2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    8
    0
    25
    Electronics Associate
    Birmingham, AL
    I had the official swype beta on it and it works just fine but when I installed a custom skinned swype of it, it just flashes blue when every I try to swype but I can type out the words but no predictive text....


    Any solutions? Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    are you rooted? how did you install the it? did you uninstall the original swype keyboard?
     
  3. GGx2

    GGx2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    8
    0
    25
    Electronics Associate
    Birmingham, AL
    I am rooted. I currently have CM7 and I tried both ways with installing and uninstalling but only the official keyboard works...
     
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    try these:[Swype] Themes (Updated 08/11)
     
    GGx2 likes this.
  5. GGx2

    GGx2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    8
    0
    25
    Electronics Associate
    Birmingham, AL
  6. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    how come these keyboards dont come with directional arrows? will these keyboards work with any rom or just mik's ?
     
  7. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    btw how do you UNINSTALL an existing Swype and install a new one? Ive got it downloaded but I dont know how to do it. Im running synergy supersonic RSL1 (NON-Godmode)
     
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you can use tb or go into settings/app/manage apps/find swype and unistall it.
     
  9. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    I found it alright but theres only 2 options: Force Stop and Clear Data. nothing else...
     
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    then use tb to unstall it.
     
  11. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    and whats TB? lol
     
  12. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    is that a file manager like ES File Manager?
     
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    sorry titanium backup. if you do not have it i suggest that you do. also if you buy the pro key you can do batch backups and restores.
     
    350zx6r likes this.
  14. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    oh ok i got it, actually it came with my rom but now how do you install a new APK file (swipe) ?
     
  15. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    use a file manger like es file manager or root explorer to install it.
     
  16. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    i got it... it did it thru es file manager. thx
     
  17. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    I installed a different swipe but nothing changed. do i have to reboot the phone or something else? or these swipes are not for my rom?
     
  18. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you have to go to a place were you input text and long press it. a window should pop up, select input method and the select swype.
     
  19. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    yeah but now im getting a force close... it looks like theres something wrong here.
     
  20. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    do you have the swype installer on your phone. if so you may need to unistall it.
     
  21. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    I dont see anything else but SWYPE...
     
  22. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    got it working... for some reason I had downloaded ENGLISH only, now I tried ENGLISH & SPANISH and voila. weird right... lol
     
  23. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    weird what is fc'ing? which swype keyboard did you try?
     
  24. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
  25. 350zx6r

    350zx6r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    and whats the advantage of Swype over Touch Input?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...