1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Custom USB Diagnostic Drivers

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by we350z, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. we350z

    we350z Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012

    Nov 6, 2012
    21
    3
    16
    So I spoke with Kyocera technical support the other day... They do not publicly provide provide USB diagnostic drivers - on purpose to prevent flashing phones at the bequest of the carriers.

    There is a guy over on CDMA Gurus who created some custom drivers based off a Sanyo model for the Kyocera Milano:

    Kyocera milano custom drivers here!

    I was unable to get the file there but after some digging on Google I found some folks over at XDA discussing it:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=36724008

    They couldn't get it to work. I tried hacking the inf for the Hydro by replacing the PID. I am still missing the referenced QUALCOMM Incorporated USB Modem/Serial Device Driver "syusbser.sys". Does anyone know where to get this? I found what I think to be similar driver on the filetube sites "qcusbser.sys" and renamed it. The drivers install but CDMAWS/QPST still cannot communicate with the phone even tho the com port is visible. Not sure what is going on.

    Anyway for $200 and a Hydro he will make custom USB Diagnostic Drivers. Unless anyone else here knows how to do it or has the time to mess with it, if enough folks are interested basically it would be pretty cheap. We would be one step closer to custom ROMs among other things.

    In the interim I may just pick up a Samsung Prevail since it already has USB diagnostic drivers and custom roms available. I need a dependable phone to use as a daily driver while I play with this one and it would be a good backup in any case.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Tattooedgod

    Tattooedgod Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    399
    226
    68
    Male
    New Hampshire
    You might want to go with a LG marquee as everything from CM10, AOKP, ics and jb
     
  3. we350z

    we350z Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012

    Nov 6, 2012
    21
    3
    16
    Says Android 2.3, still single core and it's $199. I just want something cheap as a donor for a GNEX swap. That was my original intention for the Hydro.

    LG Marquee Android Phone | Boost Mobile
     
  4. Tattooedgod

    Tattooedgod Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    399
    226
    68
    Male
    New Hampshire
    A refurbished marquee will hit in the $80s not to bad
     
  5. we350z

    we350z Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012

    Nov 6, 2012
    21
    3
    16
    Brand new Prevail is <$60. Wouldn't want to take the chance on the ESN being bad. Plus there are custom ROM's for it and while you cannot connect QPST/QXDM supposedly you can access the NV items on the filesystem at '/dev/block/'.

     
  6. Tattooedgod

    Tattooedgod Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    399
    226
    68
    Male
    New Hampshire
    True yeah its a risk I have both phones not the prevail but hydro and marquee. The marquee way out does the hydro. Until it gets a recovery of coarse.
     
  7. we350z

    we350z Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012

    Nov 6, 2012
    21
    3
    16
    On second thought I may pick up a refurbished one - the ESN should be guaranteed clean (but I think Boost charges $10 re-activation fee only other downside).

    Looks like Marquee has an active little dev community around it. Just verifying I can read NV items then I guess I will decide.

     
  8. Tattooedgod

    Tattooedgod Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    399
    226
    68
    Male
    New Hampshire
    The nice thing is that it has a good supply of roms to chose from gb, ics, and jb. Most phones don't have those options, I did alot of research before buying the Marquee. There are roms still being developed for it. Some are WIP (works in progress) but that's good.
     
  9. we350z

    we350z Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012

    Nov 6, 2012
    21
    3
    16
    So I assume reading the NV items (AAA passwords for profile 0/1) shouldn't be an issue if I want to do a swap to my Galaxy Nexus?

     
  10. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
    The only time you would get caught with a $10 reactivation fee is if you start up a new account for it, I've swapped in and out many phones on my Boost account and never had to pay an activation fee for the phone I wanted on my account, just use the website, log into your account, click upgrade handset then type in the DEC # for the phone you want to use on your account and then follow the prompts after that, you should be golden at that point... :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...