1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Cut the cord

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Rgarner, Jul 11, 2018.

  1. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    530
    40
    88
    I FINALLY got wifi for this Dell Inspiron from centurylink. It works ok except I have to keep it plugged in with the ethernet jack and the yellow cord. It's kind of inconvenient and I want to know how I can get it to work without that. I figured settings but I haven't been able to find it there. It's windows 8.1, not my fault. I (kind of) like 7 home premium but I probably won't downgrade, or could I?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,654
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,654
    16,017
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    So can I just check I've understood correctly, since on the face of it the first and second sentences seem to contradict each other?

    My guess is that you have a wireless router, but you don't have WiFi on the computer so are using a wired connection to the router. Is that right? If so then a usb WiFi adapter would allow you to use the computer wirelessly (I'm assuming it's a desktop since all laptops have WiFi, and that you just want it and the router in different places). An extension lead would help if the adaptor sticking out of the usb port isn't convenient (would let you position the adaptor to taste).
     
    Rgarner, kate, bcrichster and 2 others like this.
  3. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    530
    40
    88
    It's a laptop, for a giant anyway, The guy brought what's apparently called a modem, which I tried to use without plugging into it. When that didn't work, he suggested plugging in the yellow cord to the ethernet slot on the side. That does work, but it's pretty clunky. I want to be able to pick up the computer and move it around without that clumsy cord.
     
  4. Davdi

    Davdi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,116
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012

    Jul 4, 2012
    1,116
    505
    243
    Looking for a Job
    The Shire
  5. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,171
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,171
    4,344
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    @Rgarner if your laptop doesn't support a WiFi card, then @Hadron.totally 's suggestion above is your best solution. There's also the possibility that your router is running frequencies which your laptop doesn't support with its older hardware, which Mr. @Hadron 's suggestion is still your best option.. You could possibly update your WiFi card (laptop hardware) but I'm unsure if your older Windows distro can process the changes after appropriate WiFi drivers are installed.. Linux doesn't distros rarely ever need any kind of extra drivers for anything (FYI).
     
  6. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    530
    40
    88
    I tried using the Internet access icon on the lower right, next to the speaker icon. It's too light to be switchable to on, but I don't know why. Are you suggesting that I should download Linux, possibly Ubuntu? How do I do that? Will it work and provide wifi on a machine 5 or 6 years old?
     
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,101
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,101
    35,667
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    before we go any farther, please do this for me. In the bar at the bottom of your screen, you'll see a folder icon (file explorer). Open that and in the column on the left you will see a hierarchical list of drives, volumes and folders. On the one that says "This PC" right click and chose "manage". It will have a little shield on it. From there click on "device manager" in the left column (close to the bottom) and then on the right look for something called network adapters. there will be a little arrow next to it. Click on that to expand and tell us what it says. If there is NO wireless adapter present no amount of software or changes will make it work. If there is a wireless adapter, then we can tell you how to verify its working
     
  8. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    530
    40
    88
    Now it claims wifi is on and connected. I guess I should just unplug the yellow cord and find out if that works. Here goes.
     
  9. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    530
    40
    88
    I just did what lunatic59 said and there's a whole bunch of them. I want to send a screenshot but I guess I can't. Anyway, I unplugged the yellow cord and it doesn't seem to make any difference. I guess i finally got "real' wifi.
     
    lunatic59 and Hadron like this.
  10. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,101
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,101
    35,667
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    With that screen open press alt-print screen on your keyboard. That will capture the open window to the clipboard. Then open the paint application and select paste. Save the file and post it here. :)
     
    Rgarner and bcrichster like this.
  11. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    530
    40
    88
  12. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    530
    40
    88
    I don't know how I could save that file but not the next one. I had a different screen I wanted to save and I did alt printscreen but then when I went to paint it wouldn't save it with control s. What am I doing wrong?
     
  13. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,458
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    1. ALT printscreen
    2. Paste to Paint
    3. Save

    Did you leave out #2?

    Looks like your wireless drivers are installed.
     
  14. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    530
    40
    88
    I think I might actually have the wifi problem fixed. Now all I have to do is figure out the paint thing. Paste is control v? Save is control s? Does f12 also save?
     

Share This Page

Loading...