1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support CWM Backup and Restore problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Gravitron, Jun 25, 2011.

  1. Gravitron

    Gravitron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    52
    1
    16
    When I made a backup of my cm7 ROM and tried to restore it, my phone freezes on boot splash screen(05212011 one). And when restoring stock ROM, it freezes at android screen, and reboots into recovery mode. I noticed that backups from other phones work fine. And I'm trying to upgrade to 062412011 and I also have USB problems with both my win7 laptop and my XP desktop.
     

    Advertisement

  2. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    is you trying to restore it with the same cwm version you backup with? also on cm6/7 you have to drag down the notification bar and enable usb mode.
     
  3. moogie522

    moogie522 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    57
    3
    16
    Can I use the rom manager from the market to install the latest build?
     
  4. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    i do mines manually but you can a try...;)
     
    moogie522 likes this.
  5. Gravitron

    Gravitron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    52
    1
    16
    Yep...and I don't think I can use usb because its stuck in a boot loop, and I don't know if USB works correctly in CWM. I noticed that when restoring stock rom and selecting unmount cache, when booting, it freezes instead of restarting. Should I change the mount(syste,.cache, and data) settings?
     
  6. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    I was having the same issues. I wanted to keep different ROM backups to swap at my leisure, but I couldn't ever restore a backup without issues using CWM.
     
  7. Gravitron

    Gravitron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    52
    1
    16
    so how do I fix this?
     
  8. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I've been using CM7 since the 05092011 build & have NEVER had to use a computer to install any of the builds. Its actually easier to install the ROMS OTA, & I've grabbed ROMS from both ROM MANAGER & the PREPAID WIKI pages.
    Just use ROM MANAGER & WI-FI to change & Back-up your ROMS.
    It doesn't take any longer to d/l to the phone's web browser than it does via computer when using WI-FI.
    However,I have also used the 3G to download at least 50% of my ROMS.Either method,I've NEVER had a bad download.
    Keep it simple & try taking the PC/MAC out of the equation.IMHO, it's an unnecessary link in the process.Why would you add an extra step & add to the possibly of something else wrong to happen.

    If you give OTA direct downloads a shot,I think you'll be pleasantly suprised @ the results.
     
  9. Gravitron

    Gravitron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    52
    1
    16
    IDK what OTA means...and I don't really want to pay $6 for premium rom manager.
     
  10. Gravitron

    Gravitron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    52
    1
    16
    Got it working by using another stock from backup from another SD card, then installing. Also, it turns out that my downloading problems are solved, because my data limit reset.
     
  11. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    Sorry for the abbreviations:

    OTA=Over The Air(WI-FI,3G)

    ROM MANAGER PREMIUM isn't actually necessary,you can download new ROMS directly from the source using the phone's web browser & back-up/restore using ROM MANAGER(free version).
    I chose the PREMIUM version for the convenience & feel the price is well worth what you get in return & a way to thank the developer for their work & contribution to the ANDROID community.
     
    Gravitron likes this.
  12. moogie522

    moogie522 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    57
    3
    16
    I tried to install the build (06182022) and it froze on the the accend screen...so I installed the (06242011) build and the phone keeps restarting itself. What is the deal? Am I doing something wrong? I followed all the steps to install a new rom....please help would like to try the (06182011).
     
  13. moogie522

    moogie522 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    57
    3
    16
    lol meant to put 06182011....sould I just go back to the 05092011?
     
  14. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    If 0509 is stable for you,run it,& make a backup of it.Then..........

    1)Download a fresh copy of whichever ROM you choose(PLAYFUL GOD'S,BOB ZHOME'S,ISAACJ87 ......)

    2) Go to CLOCKWORKMOD RECOVERY & Wipe & format everything EXCEPT THE SDCARD.

    3) Install the ROM of your choice.

    I know this sounds simplistic,but,that's all there is to it.Try downloading the ROM directly to the phone from the source using WI-FI instead of the computer.It's just as quick (w/good WI-FI) & easy as using the PC/MAC & takes an unnecessary step or two out of the equation.
     
  15. moogie522

    moogie522 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    57
    3
    16
    I installed a barcode app but it won't work...keeps fc....help!!!! running cm7.
     
  16. moogie522

    moogie522 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    57
    3
    16
    can you help me nuttmeg?
     

Share This Page

Loading...