1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CWM backups without blobs?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HippoMan, Feb 8, 2014.

  1. HippoMan

    HippoMan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 5, 2009

    May 5, 2009
    78
    7
    16
    Is there an alternate way to back up my device from recovery mode that will not generate any blobs (in the clockworkmod/blobs directory)?

    I'm using a Galaxy S Relay 4G, and I haven't found a version of TWRP which runs on that device. Therefore, I seem to be stuck with CWM.

    I understand the purpose of the blobs, but they massively slow things down when i am doing searches on my device or backing up to my desktop machine via "adb pull". I'd love to make use of a different form of nandroid backup (or even a non-nandroid backup) which doesn't use these blobs.

    Are there any possibilities?

    Thank you very much in advance.
    .​
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Im on a CWM-based recovery and it doesnt use blobs. I remember using CWM for a while and hating them too just because its harder to organise.
    I had a look around the settings for you and cant find a toggle for it.
    Have you had a good look around the backup and restore menu?
    Maybe check out TWRP recovery. I use it on my tab and it doesnt use blobs :thumbup:
    EDIT sorry i just noticed where you said there isnt a twrp for it :beer:
     
  3. HippoMan

    HippoMan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 5, 2009

    May 5, 2009
    78
    7
    16
    Thank you very much. I couldn't find a CWM setting which has anything to do with blobs, but I'll keep investigating.

    What version of the CWM recovery are you using? Mine is v6.0.3.7.
    .​
     
  4. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    No probs man.
    Im on a recovery called Philz which is based on ClockworkMod v6.0.4.5 so you should probably update it. Especially if youre gona use kitkat roms :beer:
     
  5. HippoMan

    HippoMan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 5, 2009

    May 5, 2009
    78
    7
    16
    Thank you. I'm checking out that Philz recovery now. It looks promising!
    .​
     
  6. HippoMan

    HippoMan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 5, 2009

    May 5, 2009
    78
    7
    16
    Follow-up: I installed that Philz recovery, and it works great. Thank you again.
    .​
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  7. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Yeah its the best recovery imo. I love the "wipe to install rom" feature. Plus it can restore TWRP backups and back up your EFS :thumbup:
     
  8. HippoMan

    HippoMan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 5, 2009

    May 5, 2009
    78
    7
    16
    Agreed. I already replaced TWRP with Philz on one of my other devices, in addition to my T699, and I will soon do the same on my other device. TWRP is good, but Philz is better!
    .​
     

Share This Page

Loading...