1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CWM beta WORKING!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by junkie2100, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    tested and said to be working

    you will need to be rooted

    download the file and name it recovery.img and put it on the root of the sd, no folders just right on the card, so its in this location /sdcard/recovery.img

    and use either adb or terminal emulator
    if using adb youll need to do the
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. adb shell
    3.  
    command first, if terminal emulator you can just do the following commands without that part

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. su
    3.  
    4. dd if=/sdcard/recovery.img of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/recovery
    5.  
    6. reboot recovery
    7.  
    new mirror, on a phone youll probably need to open it in chrome, stock browser opens it as text for whatever reason
    http://unleashedprepaids.com/upload/devs/junkie2100/quantum_cwm.img

    thanks to shabby, stevestone, everyone who got the necessary files, and everyone who bugged the hell out of zte to get the source

    also, in theory it should work for the supreme but i make no promises... someone should test that out and make sure

    and always remember. if it breaks your phone, a "sorry, that sucks" is all the compensation youre getting lol. use at your own risk
     

    Advertisement

  2. David Dubz

    David Dubz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012

    Aug 3, 2012
    258
    71
    53
    Male
    United States
    Close but no cigar. Doesn't boot.
     
  3. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    alright thank you, ill take a look and try to figure out whats wrong with it when i get the chance
     
    Mancow60 likes this.
  4. stevestone

    stevestone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    226
    39
    43
    Hello,

    I flashed it.. ... Blank screen with charging led on.... I show in qhsusb_dload mode when attached on pc. Though driver not found..
     
  5. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    new copy. adjusted a few key things, should be good now

    same link in the op just updated file
     
  6. stevestone

    stevestone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    226
    39
    43
    Black screen.. I tried updated one..
     
  7. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    hmm... k ill work on it. might be the prebuilt kernel honestly and i dont have the source for that particular model. its more recent source than the elden and older than the nex so i cant make any guarantees at rhis point. ill try to get another build out today but if that doesnt work i dunno
     
    Mancow60 likes this.
  8. stevestone

    stevestone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    226
    39
    43
    I highly appreciate your work.. I totally understand that.. :(
     
  9. stevestone

    stevestone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    226
    39
    43
    Any progress... :(
     
  10. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    sadly... no. ive been busy so i havent run a build. but yiu guys can help things along by bugging the hell out of zte and getting the proper kernel source for the device
     
  11. stevestone

    stevestone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    226
    39
    43
    I will create a appeal thread. :(
     
  12. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    that works, youll have to hit up the support people at the source release site. i think it was support.zte.cn or something like that

    sorry... support.zte.com.cn
     
  13. stevestone

    stevestone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    226
    39
    43
    I did created thread on vital main forum..
     
  14. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
  15. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    they seem to have upgraded quite a bit. its now using jellybean and a 3.4 kernel

    and for some reason 3.4 zte kernels dont seem to play very nice. of course no zte kernel is a gem lol
     
  16. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    same link, different file. test it out, let me know
     
    stevestone and Mancow60 like this.
  17. stevestone

    stevestone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    226
    39
    43
    WOW. It does booted.. how did you do that. DAMMM I tried it many times. but all wasted. Thats what experience teaches... Thanks a lot....... Let me test it out.....................

    how did you do that, if you dont mind sharing???? I mean? I edited boardconfig and all?? but was a fail :(

    ITs working fine. I did a nandroid backup now.. mine external got detected maybe bcoz of swap. Adb working with mounted sdcard..
     
  18. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    theres something about the kernel source that makes it work. not really sure what it is but as you can see... it works
    ill post it up on my github shortly that way you can use it as a base for cm or aosp or whatever
    basically its just based on the kernel zte released and the same zte nex repo i got from cooldudezach originally that i ported to the warp 4g and the zte source
     
    stevestone likes this.
  19. stevestone

    stevestone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    226
    39
    43
    Thank you very much.. I been trying it sleepless night. I will be trying it.. :) let me know git link..
    thanks again..
     
  20. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
  21. stevestone

    stevestone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    226
    39
    43
    wow.. I m looking at boardconfig file.. I did right calculation bcoz of you.. you specified in aurora i guess partition block size x 1024.. before i was calculating with 512..

    I missed this part, BOARD_MKBOOTIMG_ARGS := --ramdisk_offset 0x02000000

    and that krait part. I tried to specified it but prebuild zimage and it throwed error..

    I even added pixel part.. LOL damm ..

    I missed all ums part..

    let me try to compile it, just for learning purpose.. by adding one by one line.. do it need to compile it with kernel source or all the time? as it takes to much time for single compile from source????
     
  22. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    ums part is irrelevant, mounting usb storage wont work im sure

    as far as compiling it im pretty sure you need to use the kernel source, i could be wrong but something kicked it into gear obviously, you are free to try it without
     
  23. stevestone

    stevestone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    226
    39
    43
    rather then mouting everything works.. I am :)
     
  24. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
    BOARD_RECOVERY_SWIPE := true

    enjoy touch cwm :)
     
    ryanb876 and stevestone like this.
  25. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    sure as hell beats stock recovery lol. alright well enjoy guys, run into any serious issues let me know
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...