1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CWM5 recovery restore question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by smsgAce, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. smsgAce

    smsgAce Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    30
    3
    36
    I searched for this question before posting, and I haven't managed to find the answer:

    Before flashing Ice Cream Sunday (cm7.2 basically) over 2.3.3 stock, I did a backup using cwm 5 recovery.

    Now, I want to go back to 2.3.3, and if possible restore my apps, settings, accounts, and the rest of them.

    My question is: can I simply do a restore using cmw5, or do I have to use the pinned tutorial made my Chrismay?
     

    Advertisement

  2. smsgAce

    smsgAce Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    30
    3
    36
    100+ views and no answer? Come on guys
     
  3. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,243
    23,429
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    smsgAce,

    I've moved your thread to the all-things-root sub-forum where you'll hopefully get more views and replies (it may just be the root guys didn't see your thread).

    Good luck!
     
  4. vinay0708

    vinay0708 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011

    Dec 2, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    yes, u can restore ur ealier cm backup from recovery menu.
    cm backups are stored on sd card in folder "clockworkmod". so if u have formated ur sd card, u have lost all ur backups. ;)
     
  5. PJ147

    PJ147 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    457
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    457
    143
    68
    Male
    Sales
    Hampshire, UK
    Will this restore the rom too? If so do you need to factory reset etc first?
     
  6. EmoBoiix3

    EmoBoiix3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    CWM5 supports legacy backups.
     
    PJ147 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...