1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cyanogen 7.0.3 constant reboot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gobirds895, May 23, 2011.

  1. gobirds895

    gobirds895 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    100
    0
    35
    I just switched to Cyanogenmod 7.0.3 from a MIUI rom, and I can barely do anything on the phone without it rebooting or freezing. Im thinking about unrooting, because nearly every rom i try has a reboot problem or some kind of issue. Can I do anything to fix the "stable" Cyanogen reboot issue? The phone wont even stay on long enough for me to switch roms. I guess I should go back to MIUI even though it rebooted alot, but no this much. Im beginning to regret my decision to root..
     

    Advertisement

  2. dhays90

    dhays90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    116
    11
    38
    It sounds like you are using ROM Manager to install a ROM since you said your phone won't stay on long enough to switch. I usually flash all my ROMS with Rom Manager unless it is CM cause then I need to flash the GAPPS.

    I recommend installing a ROM while in recovery. Do always make sure you Wipe Data and Cache. Normally whenever I switch ROMs I tend to wipe wipe Dalvik Cache in Advanced settings also.
     
  3. chepes3x

    chepes3x Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    89
    11
    18

    i been using 7.0.0 for 5 days and i loving it ... Flash it from rom manager, no problems so far.
     
  4. pwned

    pwned Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    75
    30
    23
    Are you doing a full wipe? Or using titanium backup to restore any apps? Sounds like one of the two.
     
  5. illallowit

    illallowit Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    CDA, ID
    Is it a bad thing to use Titanium to restore apps after you install a new ROM?
     
  6. Spart

    Spart Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    100
    6
    36

    I always use it. Just don't restore system data unless you are on the same type of rom, and even then not unless you really have to.
     
  7. pwned

    pwned Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    75
    30
    23
    I was also just reading that if you're having these reboots if you're wiping and not restoring data with titanium that it may be that your phone itself may be failing.
     
  8. wayrad

    wayrad Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,177
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,177
    148
    163
    Female
    Long Island
    I've also heard that with the recent versions of clockworkmod recovery, more than one data wipe may be needed. Can't hurt.
     

Share This Page

Loading...