1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cyanogen 7 low disk space

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CoastalDroid, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. CoastalDroid

    CoastalDroid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    30
    3
    16
    Portugal
    I moved my HTC Desire GSM from a stock HTC ROM to the Revoultion ROM A2SD+ in order to get rid of my low disk space issue, and with regard to never having to worry about newly installed apps, all was fantastic. I was not happy however with some of the lagging (as previously seen with Sense ROMs), therefore I changed to Cyanogenmod 7 to get a gain in speed. This has worked great, however I now have the low disk space issue again :( !?! I have ensured that all qualifying apps have been moved to SD, but "internal storage" showing as a measly 13 Mb (of 148Mb).

    What can I do to take full advantage of my new ROM?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Tyseyh

    Tyseyh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,035
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2,035
    296
    163
    Male
    Leeds, UK
    Did you partition your sd and enable a2sd?
    Some do it by default but if you don't have the ex3/4 partition then I don't think it will once you get the partition.
     
  3. CoastalDroid

    CoastalDroid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    30
    3
    16
    Portugal
    I partitioned my SD with Gparted (and created an ext4 partition) before I loaded the original (Revolution) ROM. Before I loaded the new CM7 ROM, I performed a wipe of data, cache and dalvik. Did I miss a step?

    Do I have to manually "enable a2sd" with CM7?
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    There is no A2sd with CM7. You have to flash one of the scripts mentioned in the CM7 thread, or use Simple 2 EXT (2sE) from the market (although scripts are better IMHO).
     
  5. CoastalDroid

    CoastalDroid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    30
    3
    16
    Portugal
    Never dawned on me that a ROM with such a good rep would not have some form of SD app management...

    I took your advice SURoot and opted for a script (Data2SD) :)

    All works a charm now, cheers SURoot. Loving CM7.

    One aspect I noticed though... after a phone restart, you must leave the phone for a healthy period of time to 'settle' down. Otherwise accessing certain apps (such as email in my case) too early will bring a succession of app crashes, requiring another restart.
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,682
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,682
    16,065
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    The thing is that many android phones have more internal storage than the Desire. CM7 is available for many phones, and not all of them need an a2sd script. So with CM7 it's more an add-on for those handsets that need it, whereas it's a built-in part of many Desire-specific ROMs.
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    And a2sd or data2sd isn't the only option. There are hboots too.
     
  8. CoastalDroid

    CoastalDroid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    30
    3
    16
    Portugal
    I have come back to this thread as I have just had a catastrophe with my Desire running CM7 with data2sd -- SD card has become unreadable (see post http://androidforums.com/desire-support-troubleshooting/627018-sd-card-requires-formatting.html).

    I might as well take this opportunity to set my phone up differently. The biggest issue I had with my phone on CM7 with data2sd was lag, especially with everyday apps eg. such as dialler, with screen not coming back into view for up to 5 seconds to allow call hangup!

    Can anyone recommend a suitable ROM which will allow me to run everyday apps from memory (dialler, sms, email client , browser etc) and selected apps from SD?

    I understand the phone is an old model, but I feel there is plenty of life in the old girl yet, with a suitable setup.

    Many thanks.
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,682
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,682
    16,065
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Well CM7 itself can do that, if you just use a2sd, and especially if you use a custom hboot to gain more internal space. But if you want to avoid that the best bet is a small ROM plus a custom hboot. dGB is the ultimate in this respect - the ROM itself is so small that you can fit it in 60MB, and use a custom hboot that gives you > 370 MB of internal space. I've been using this ROM myself for the last year.

    You need S-Off for the custom hboot, but we'll be happy to talk you through doing that if you haven't already.
     
  10. CoastalDroid

    CoastalDroid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    30
    3
    16
    Portugal
    Thanks for the offer of assistance Hadron. This is all confusing as hell :thinking:. At the top of my original post you will see that I was still having issues with memory after I applied CM7. I was informed that "There is no A2sd with CM7" whereas the CM7 wiki Apps2SD - CyanogenMod Wiki indicates that "CM 6+ takes the native Google method, and improves upon it". Hence my previous question: "Do I have to manually "enable a2sd" with CM7?"

    If I can get CM7 to work with some form of SD caching, then I will. Alternatively I am happy to use an alternative ROM which allows me use everyday apps (dialler, sms, email etc) from memory and pick and choose apps to run from SD.

    I currently have alpharev/CWM on my phone.

    Please advise on:
    - the next step, if I go with CM7 (and how to 'enable' a2sd);
    - if I chose to go with an alternative ROM such as dGB, can I just implement it from SD via CWM? Or is there more to it?

    Many thanks in advance for your help.
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,682
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,682
    16,065
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    The confusion is that there are 2 types of "a2sd":

    * the native Google one, which is the "move to sd" item in the applications menu

    * the version using an ext partition

    CM7 comes with the first, which is part of the Android OS since Froyo (i.e. CM6 onwards), but you have to add the second. When I used CM7 I added the DarkTremor script (a2dd, not data2sd) but many use the app Simple2Ext instead.
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,682
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,682
    16,065
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You can simply flash another ROM via CWM, but a custom hboot requires S-Off and flashing via fastboot.
     
  13. CoastalDroid

    CoastalDroid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    30
    3
    16
    Portugal
    I'd rather not flash again -- first time I watched through my fingers !!


    I think I still had issues originally with CM7 when I applied the native one, therefore will opt for the latter.

    Next confusing points:
    - when a ROM indicates that it comes with a2sd ... does this mean it applies the native variation?
    - can I run a a2sd script regardless, before applying any ROM?
     
  14. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
  15. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,682
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,682
    16,065
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Yeah, any ROM from Froyo onwards includes the native a2sd, so nobody even mentions that - it's a given.
     
  16. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,952
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,952
    292
    263
    hi CD,
    i went the s-off + hboot route and it was cool - no worries at all - seems scary i know, but is very easy

    good luck
    cheers
    dan
     
  17. desarenezitic

    desarenezitic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    190
    17
    38
    Male
    My 2c: Was the Data2SD script not causing the OP's lag because it was putting all data on the SD rather than just the apps? I know this can cause slow downs depending on the SD card class.
     
  18. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,682
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,682
    16,065
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Very possibly - I've avoided using it for that reason.
     
  19. spile

    spile Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    424
    44
    43
    I am using CM7 on a Desire and what worked for me was
    Partitioning 1Gb of my SDCard
    Installing S2e and using recommended settings.
    Now have 72Mb free instead of 12Mb.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...