1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cyanogen Wimax Alpha vs. MikFroyo 4.4

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MizzouBrent, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,852
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,852
    2,518
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Hey all, I'm pretty new to this and I've tried searching the forums and can't find an exact answer, so here goes.

    I just flashed the Cyanogen Wimax Alpha, and I like it, but there are some things I miss about Sense. So I am thinking Mikfroyo 4.4 might be the best choice for me. I understand how to flash the ROM, but I have a kernel question.

    I flashed toastcfh-2.6.34-wimax.zip when I flashed the CM alpha rom. Do I need to flash a different kernel to work with Mikfroyo or will that one work just fine?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dreamliner

    Dreamliner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    690
    83
    98
    The 'Kernel' is a part of the ROM. By flashing the new ROM you choose, you will overwrite what you installed.

    Do this:

    nandroid backup (if you need to)
    wipe data
    wipe dalvik
    wipe cache
    flash ROM
    --reboot--
    setup your phone.

    If you choose to flash another custom kernel, you can do it AFTER you reboot....AFTER installing the new ROM.
    ----------------------------------------------
    Also...Install this: http://www.goodandevo.net/files/sdread/sdreadahead-512.zip

    It dramatically increases the read speed to your SD Card, making pictures, videos, songs, etc load way faster. More info: here.
    ----------------------------------------------
    I'd STRONGLY recommend the Fresh ROM. It is a slimmed down version of the Sprint ROM, not a completely different ROM....the best part? EVERYTHING WORKS!

    Download: Fresh Evo 3.5.0.1 (New OTA)

    I've tried many different ROM's and I keep going back...no lockups or reboots with Fresh.
     
  3. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    The kernel you flashed when using Cyanogen is more than likely a kernel that works only with AOSP ROM's. Mikfroyo is a Sense based ROM, so you'll need a kernel that works with Sense. Essentially, when you flash whichever ROM you choose (I'll use Mikfroyo for the sake of the example), it'll come with a stock kernel (most Sense ROM's come with HTC kernels), that will replace the kernel you were using when you were running Cyanogen. Even if you were coming from a Sense ROM, had a kernel designed for Sense ROM's, the ROM you're flashing will have a kernel, that will replace the kernel you had at that time. So in short, you won't need to flash a different kernel after flashing Mik's, unless you'd like to overclock or would like to run a custom kernel. Hope this helps.
     
  4. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    As Frenchy said, do *not* flash that kernel on a Sense ROM. Not only does it come with its own kernel (*almost* every ROM will), but it's designed specifically for that ROM and its functionality. Sometimes you can use AOSP kernels on a Sense ROM, but I wouldn't try that one. Try it with the stock kernel for a bit, and if you decide you want to overclock, or simply feel you can get better performance or battery life out of a different kernel, you'll need a Sense based kernel. The most popular is netarchy. If you want more information about kernels and what to flash, specifically, read this.
     
  5. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,852
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,852
    2,518
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Yes that helps. Cyanogen wimax was the first rom I've tried so I assumed I needed a specific kernel each time I did a rom flash. No need for a backup since I did a nand backup when irooted my evo like two days ago. Thanks for the quick response guys.

    Do I have any cause for concern using an alpha rom if its not crashing? My only complaint is that the features aren't great for some things but I guess that's why it's an alpha build.
     
  6. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Short answer no. If it's not buggy, crashing, and is pretty much stable for your phone, GREAT! Many aren't that lucky.
     
  7. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    900
    234
    93
    SF
    the latest mikfroyo comes with the sd card speed tweek, no need to flash anything for it.

    everything works on mikfroyo no freezes or reboots. but so far for this goes for all sense roms I have tried.

    the mikfroyo rom pretty much comes with all the tweeks you could need. only with a stock htc kernel so no overclocking.
     
  8. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,852
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,852
    2,518
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Is there much of a difference between MikFroyo and Fresh?
     
  9. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Aside from the theming being completely different, Mikfroyo is based off of a base ROM by the developer, which has a lot of junk removed from all of the system apks. It makes the ROM smaller and it loads and runs a little faster. Other than that, you can look at the changelogs and descriptions for each to see what different mods each has.
     
  10. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    There's a BIG difference in speed between the 2 ROM's to me.
     
  11. Dreamliner

    Dreamliner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    690
    83
    98
    Fresh is extremely simlilar to the Sprint ROM, just a bit quicker with a bunch of Sprint apps removed.

    MikFroyo is heavily themed, very few Sprint apps, and a few tools for customization.

    I've been a big fan of Fresh for a long time...its been really stable. I'm playing with MikFroyo a bit now and if it goes a few days without any freezes or reboots, I'll probably make it my standard ROM.

    mikfroyo's SD READ is set at 256. I've found better results with 512. I've also tried 1024 with diminished results, 512 seems to provide the best results.
     
  12. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    I have to agree with frenchy....mik and myns roms both are blazing fast compared to fresh. Fresh is a good rom don't get me wrong...

    Cm...wasn't for me. Even the stable versions were too buggy for my tastes


    For whatever reason I did have to run the sd zip on mikfroyos latest. Not sure why.
     
  13. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,852
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,852
    2,518
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Flashed mikfroyo earlier tonight and I am in love. Super speedy compared to stock sense. I'm not even going to bother with Fresh because I don't think it could be any better. Running 4.4 with no special kernel.
     
  14. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Glad you're liking Mikfroyo, 4.5 is out btw if you didn't already know and can be found here:

    [ROM] - [02/06/2011] - MikFroYo v4.5 - ReEngineered Sense - Still Fast. - xda-developers

    Also, if you think it's pretty quick now (which it is), wait until you flash a custom kernel and overclock it!
     
  15. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,852
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,852
    2,518
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Yeah I wasn't sure if 4.5 was stable yet. Do I need to wipe data every time if I flash a new version of MikFroyo or am I safe just doing davlik and cache?

    Any idea on when a gingerbread version will be available? I'm so new to all of this that I haven't had a chance to read up, but I love the fact that I'm not tied into HTC updates anymore.
     
  16. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Most developers will recommend that you wipe data each time. Most the time you *can* get away with not wiping data, but it can cause random issues that are hard to troubleshoot. If you're switching ROMs, you should definitely wipe data. It would be smart to just wipe data each time, even if just upgrading a ROM. That being said, just follow the developer's instructions. Some will say it's necessary, while other's won't.

    As for Gingerbread, if you want to switch to an AOSP (based on google source) ROM, such as the Cyanogenmod Gingerbread betas, then you can have Gingerbread. If you're waiting for Mikfroyo (or any Sense based ROM) to get and update to Gingerbread, you're going to have to wait until HTC releases an OTA update for it. ROM developers need something to work off of.
     
  17. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I have not tried CM nightlies yet for the Evo but with the Hero, before flashing a new nightly, wiping Dalvik cache and cache was all that was needed. Is this the same for the Evo CM nightlies? Just curious:)
     
  18. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    I think you'll be okay with those, as they aren't full on ROM updates. Somebody else who actually does that may have to chime in on that one.
     
    andygu3 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...