1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CyanogenMod 10.1 [ROM] WILD FOR THE NIGHT - Sprint/Virgin Mobile

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by joe_blow, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. kemo1990

    kemo1990 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011

    Sep 7, 2011
    53
    1
    16
    the first one i flashed everything worked fine, second i got tearing on vids, now i dont get any vids at all screen just goes black...and force closes when i switch to front camera
     

    Advertisement

  2. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    This have more about the drivers from HTC I read some where or the cyan 10.1 operating system?? It says right on the install page for Wild for the Night, no "3D". But never used that anyway.

    So finding apps say in the Google Play store for video camera would just have the same result, tearing in the video's. It either tears really bad or sometimes says it can't even play video....
     
  3. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    okay, can't believe am asking this after how well all you guys helped me on Round 1. My disclaimer will follow the posts from first time, and keep questions down.

    But................Fed Ex arrived with new HTC EVO 4G and told gotta do the whole process over again. I was told to S-Off step first after activation, which it is. But couple small questions. Can I use the same files from mini sdk or best to start over with all. I am following the newbies guide that used the first time. I was told the HTC boot unlocker is specific to the first phone, so will need to code. I'm after the same goal to change to Jelly Bean rom again. Thanks!!!
     
  4. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,433
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,433
    8,791
    1,053
    Drafter
    Honestly at this point I would follow this guide:
    http://androidforums.com/evo-v-4g-all-things-root/695161-s-off-root-fix-everything-all-in-one.html

    It has the most up to date information with all the newest procedure requirements, software downloads, etc.
    Unlimited.io does not even have the windows juopunutbear software available any more. You will find it in that guide though.

    Sdk-Tools is fine. You don't need to download that again. As far as your unlock token, I think you will need to get a new one for the new device.
     
    tigerstv44 likes this.
  5. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    I still have control bear from first attempt, will try this guide you linked.
     
  6. kemo1990

    kemo1990 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011

    Sep 7, 2011
    53
    1
    16
    apparently the camcorder issue was with the one that comes with the rom...installed one from the market and the camcorder works but screen tears really bad. anyone know what causes that?
     
  7. LakersDroid

    LakersDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    810
    130
    93
    Male
    Orange, CA
  8. FoxyDrew

    FoxyDrew Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    395
    58
    73
    Male
    Right here, Right now!
    With this ROM wifi doesnt work on my phone? I noticed it said "have latest sprint firmware installed" And figure this might be the problem but I tried running LeslieAnne's Hacks and joe_blow's hacks and still had the problem? Is there something I missed or am doing wrong?

    Oh and this same problem happens on "Angry Bean" and "AlienDroid"?
     
  9. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    You must be S-OFF if you are running this ROM so make sure you disable SmartFlash in the 4EXT tools menu before flashing the ROM.

    That will be reset back to enabled when the recovery is booted again unless you change it in the settings of the 4EXT app, which updates your profile. Many users aren't aware that this is necessary when you go from S-ON to S-OFF to avoid failures when using SmartFlash.

    ramjet73
     
    FoxyDrew likes this.
  10. FoxyDrew

    FoxyDrew Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    395
    58
    73
    Male
    Right here, Right now!
    I disabled that when I first S-OFFed but I didn't realize it re-enables itself, thank you and I'll be sure to remember this. :D
     
  11. other gus

    other gus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012

    Jul 28, 2012
    33
    21
    18
    Male
    Northeast PA
    Love this ROM. Took me a lot of time to figure out how to install it, but once I did, it was very refreshing to use.

    Unfortunately, I'm going back to Gangnam Style; this ROM bootloops if your phone dies and forces you to RUU/reflash radio and all that junk. That's a dealbreaker for me.

    It might not be a dealbreaker if the battery was more formidable, too, hah....this ROM kills your battery pretty quickly.

    If there are any solutions to the bootloop problem, please, let me know....I really don't want to stop using this version!
     
  12. Chicoman

    Chicoman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013

    Mar 12, 2013
    177
    45
    43
    Male
    La La Land
    I've been avoiding this ROM due to bootloops, random restarts and a few other annoyances but decided to try the 4/17 build recently and man was I pleasantly surprised. This ROM is running super smooth and I didn't get any major issues. No MMS fix or GPS fix necessary even. Worth trying for anyone else who haven't tried this in awhile for something new.

    P.S. the max clock speed installs preset at 1782 so remember to take it down a notch or so to avoid issues from overclocking.
     
  13. ShadyBusiness

    ShadyBusiness Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    66
    15
    18
    My mms.apk is crashing whenever I try to open a group MMS thread where I've received a message. Here is the logcat Group Messaging Crash Wild For The Night ROM May 1st Build - Pastebin.com

    I've censored out phone numbers (replaced with 0s). I'd post this in XDA where it seems most of the discussion about development takes place but I don't have access to the development boards there. Hopefully a developer for this ROM sees this.
     
  14. wolfu

    wolfu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    163
    38
    43
    Male
    Minneapolis
  15. badboytoast

    badboytoast Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    225
    32
    43
    Awesome JB 4.2.2 ROM. This is my daily. But I am looking for an awesome sound mod? Because I feel the speakers are low. Any suggestion??:D
     
  16. fivestardunk

    fivestardunk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012

    Aug 28, 2012
    36
    4
    16
    Have you tried Viper4Android?
     
  17. Chicoman

    Chicoman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013

    Mar 12, 2013
    177
    45
    43
    Male
    La La Land
    I haven't tried it with a CM 10.1 ROM but was going to suggest trying it as well and see if it works well. Here's a link:

    Viper4Android
     
  18. badboytoast

    badboytoast Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    225
    32
    43
    Thanks guys/girls!! Gonna give it a try and report back
     
  19. bigazzdave

    bigazzdave Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013

    Jan 7, 2013
    13
    0
    15
    is this rom ok for boost mobile? I already installed and so far everythings working fine but it says sprint instead of boost now lol and my boost updates aren't the same...dohhh lol
     
  20. Chicoman

    Chicoman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013

    Mar 12, 2013
    177
    45
    43
    Male
    La La Land
    It's ok if you have a bootloader of 1.50 or lower. If you flashed the Sprint version and I don't think a Boost Mobile version has ever been created so, it's going to say Sprint and you'll need to tweak things if you want MMS to work, etc. I don't know what Boost updates are and why they wouldn't be the same.

    Also, don't waste time with the CM10.1, got to XDA and download the newest version upgraded to JB 4.3, a lot smoother.
     
    bigazzdave likes this.
  21. bigazzdave

    bigazzdave Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013

    Jan 7, 2013
    13
    0
    15
    thank you chicoman... could u possibly post a link so I make sure I go to the rite place lol #noobproblems haha
     
  22. Chicoman

    Chicoman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013

    Mar 12, 2013
    177
    45
    43
    Male
    La La Land
  23. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    Keep in mind hood pope does not have wimax if that is important to you. It does however run better I think than wftn. Also with Mirage kernel and killjoy tweaks it is the best battery life I have had as well.
     
  24. bigazzdave

    bigazzdave Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013

    Jan 7, 2013
    13
    0
    15
    thanx for the quick replies fellas!!! I just relized tho that I posted in the wrong forum dohhh lol my phones the gs2 epic 4gt lol
     
  25. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    10.2 updated today. Still no wimax FYI but this is still the most solid cm rom I have used.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...