1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

CyanogenMod 5.07 Brings Android 2.1 to G1

Discussion in 'Rogers' started by mjschmidt, May 3, 2010.

  1. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,268
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009

    Jun 27, 2009
    1,268
    113
    153
    Male
    In my house.

    Advertisement

  2. vikingisson

    vikingisson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Isn't it ironic that the Dream that "can't be updated past 1.5" can happily run 1.6 and now apparently 2.1?
    Because of the required radio version I've been using some other 2.1 roms and we're very close to being just right. roms such as cursordroid are nice but 1.6 & 2.1 add so much more.
     
  3. Recc113

    Recc113 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    I'm very tempted to try this rom on my phone, although I've got a few questions before partaking on this adventure.

    Firstly, my phone specs. It's a refurbished phone rogers sent me about a week ago, so it's pretty basic.
    Firmware : 1.5
    Baseband : 62.59S.20.23U_3.22.26.17
    Kernel : 2.6.27-d5acf552 u70000@Android-X01 #12
    Build : 1.89.631.1 146733 CL#94714 release-keys

    I was wondering if I would be able to return to the state my phone is currently in to install rogers 2.1 update that's supposed to come out next month?
     
  4. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Sorry dude, your phone has the mandatory E911 update on it. So far nobody has been able to find a way to break the perfect SPL on that update. You'll have to wait until someone manages to find a way.

    gbd
     
  5. KenWalker

    KenWalker Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Same question here on a Rogers Magic+
    Firmware v 1.5
    baseband version: 63.18.55.06KU_6.35.10.18
    Kernel version: 2.6.27-b476e83
    htc-kernal@and18-2 #989
    Build 3.05.631.7 CL#118917 release-keys

    Not sure how to tell whether mine also has the mandatory update. Got it new from Rogers a couple of months ago. When I bought it they told me it was v2 of android and did tethering, but of course it isn't and doesn't and when I ask them they only say they might upgrade android to v2 and say nothing of tethering . . . .
     
  6. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    If it's a Magic+ then it has the mandatory update.
     
    KenWalker likes this.
  7. KenWalker

    KenWalker Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for that.
    So I am reading this thread and also your Great Big Dog report on how to put the Dream radio on the magic phone at
    Rogers post E911 Magic to CM 5.0.7 (Android 2.1) with Dream E911 Radio The GreatBigDog Report
    (excellent work btw, thanks for that).
    This thread makes me think I have to wait until someone breaks the SPL but your article seems to layout the instructions for the Magic+.

    Does this mean I have to wait or that the instructions in your article in the link will work?

    I have a feeling I am asking a dumb question . . . . oh well.

    Thanks.
     
  8. tsouthen

    tsouthen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    28
    1
    16
    Programmer
    Canada
    GBD's instructions should work fine on the HTC Magic, just not on the Dream. The Dream's post E911 SPL hasn't been broken yet. I'm running CM 5.0.8 (just released this weekend) on my Magic and am very happy with it.
     
    KenWalker likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...