1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General CyanogenMod disables root access by default

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jericko, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. jericko

    jericko Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    344
    124
    68
    Systems Engineer
    Omaha
    Security and You | CyanogenMod

    Many of you may not give it a second glance, but among all the furor and concern about permissions requested by market apps and privacy, all Custom ROMs (CyanogenMod included) ship with one major security risk
     

    Advertisement

    colchiro likes this.
  2. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Looks like that will be tonight's build and moving forward.

    Guess I'm going to sit this one out. I don't feel like a martyr.

    changelog
     
  3. awells527

    awells527 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    113
    12
    58
    Support Desk
    NW Indiana
    I think it's a good idea. People that need root don't lose anything and it's not an open security hole for those that don't need it.
     
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    It's going to be a pain in the a$$ to have to set after every update.
     
  5. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    One check box is a huge pain?

    Also, do you have a reason to believe you have to re-set it after every update? No other OS settings are lost after an update. I was looking through the text and couldn't find an indication that you'd have to re-set it every time.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...