1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support D3 stock software issues, anyone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JustinG499, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. JustinG499

    JustinG499 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Anyone have these issues with whatever craptastic stock software motorola put on this thing:

    All sounds are down extremely low when phone is in sleep mode:
    Alarm / Ringer / Notifications etc... I miss so many calls. I've looked for every setting, changed ringer, etc. etc. I can hear the phone physically vibrating over the sounds, as soon as I turn the screen on the sound jumps back up to normal volume. (at least what is normal for the D3)

    GPS will randomly (alot after reboots) not turn on:
    I have to go into the GPS settings, turn it off then back on again and accepting whatever that thing is that pops up is. (google maps is only app I use with GPS, seems to happen alot, especially after a reboot)

    Random txt messages automatically not being sent:
    I have signal and I am not on a call. I have to delete message completely and copy paste it into new txt. Happens maybe 1 in 30 txt messages?


    Really just the low sounds and the speaker generally sucking are my two biggest gripes. Just wanted to see if anyone else had some crappy issues with it. Guess I'm spoiled from OG droid custom ROMs. This thing will be sick once all this crap is taken out of it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Seems you have already made up your mind with your first sentence, so why even ask? ;)

    All the rest seems moot.
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,478
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    In the first sentence, the OP is asking if other Droid 3 users are having similar issues. Perhaps in hope of remedies being posted in this thread (the "support" prefix is attached to this thread). ;)
     
  4. imnotmikal

    imnotmikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    1,041
    256
    183
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    Side note, why does this phone require you to do that? I can no longer use my SwitchPro widget to turn GPS on/off. Clicking the icon on it takes me to the GPS settings, then I have to click it again, and then click accept.
    It's quite annoying.
     
  5. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky

    The "craptastic" kind of sets the bias tone for me, but if the OP were referring to bloat, I would agree.
     
  6. Mrgadgetz

    Mrgadgetz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    35
    15
    18
    Michigan
    My main issue has to do with wifi. A lot of times it connects then disconnects. Then if I do connect it runs really slow. Also the market and other apps that use internet don't work when connected to wifi. Ill give this phone another week. I'll call customer suppport to see if they can solve my issues. If not I'm going back to my OG dinc.
     
  7. JustinG499

    JustinG499 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I've had some issues with wifi as well. Usually I connect to wifi, give it 5 minutes and its fine. If I try to connect with browser, market, almost anything right after turning on wifi it won't do squat.

    I've even checked my router to make sure its connected and got an ip address. Seems to take a bit to switch from 3G to wifi? I dunno.
     
  8. imnotmikal

    imnotmikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    1,041
    256
    183
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    I've never had any problems with Wifi, just saying.
     
  9. stargazertony

    stargazertony Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    54
    3
    36
    Don't have the problems you have. Wifi kicks out every once in awhile but a router reboot gets it going again so its not the phone. Id talk to Vz.
     
  10. beowulf7

    beowulf7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    541
    32
    98
    Male
    Engineer
    TX
    I noticed the stock IM app seems to kickoff after some period of time, within a couple hours, whereas on my previous phone, it never did unless I closed it. :thinking:
     
  11. Mrgadgetz

    Mrgadgetz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    35
    15
    18
    Michigan
    I only run into wifi issues when I try to log on to an encrypted network e.g. my university internetconnection. At home I just have it password locked and it works fine.
     
  12. Bieszczat

    Bieszczat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011

    Aug 6, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    The sound thing is the only point I would like to figure out as well. Sleep mode sound almost nothing. Any answers anyone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...