1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support daily reboot to fix lost data connection

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by toyssan1, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. toyssan1

    toyssan1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    42
    0
    15
    It seems that almost every morning when I go from my home wifi connection to 3G, I end up losing all data connections which requires a reboot to fix.

    I have tried turning wifi on-off, all different modes of wireless modes, and this morning I tried turning on airplane mode, which once turned on, the phone would not allow me to turn airplane mode back off, which then left me no other alternative than to REBOOT!!!

    This is almost a daily occurrence and part of my morning commute ritual.

    On a side note, phone shows 100% battery life until the reboot, which then it will show as low as 80% and only been unplugged for 30 minutes.

    Anybody else having similar issues?
     

    Advertisement

  2. CyberPitz

    CyberPitz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    303
    42
    63
    Joplin, MO
    I have that problem sporadically, mainly because my house is in a "You are going to be lucky and get 1 bar" location. I just assumed that doing the changing to and from that with my wireless confuses and kills the data. For me, going to Airplane mode and back fixes the issue.
     
    balefire likes this.
  3. SteveWellsNH

    SteveWellsNH Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    3
    1
    6
    Mobile/Wireless Consultant
    Mason, NH
    I am in a 0-1bar location, and lost WiFi 2-3 times/day. Resetting DSL/Wireless router usually works. My 3G coverage is so poor I may leave it in Airplane mode if that would prevent the phone from being conflicted between 3G and WiFi coverage.
     
  4. toyssan1

    toyssan1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    42
    0
    15
    Yes at home I have very little 3G, but I never lose signal. On my way to work, within a few miles I get into a full bar 3G area, but it does not say 3G on my phone, just bars. I get no data connection until I reboot the phone.
     
  5. drewcam888

    drewcam888 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  6. toyssan1

    toyssan1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    42
    0
    15
    just backed up my messages with sms backup so I could do just that. I hope it works.
     
  7. balefire

    balefire Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    45
    3
    16
    I have been rebooting to fix this problem. Airplane mode is much better. Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...