• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Dalvik Cashe

Yoketah

May 24, 2010
Hello, I'm very new to rooting, and need some help. My phone keeps freezing on boot up at the "htc evo 4g" screen when ever I try to flash a kernel. I found out that I need to wipe cache and Dalvik-cache, but everytime I try to wipe the Dalvik-cache, it just goes black for a little while and then returns to the previous menue. I assume that it did not wipe, right? Or is it freezing for some other reason?
Thanks.

Hello, I'm very new to rooting, and need some help. My phone keeps freezing on boot up at the "htc evo 4g" screen when ever I try to flash a kernel. I found out that I need to wipe cache and Dalvik-cache, but everytime I try to wipe the Dalvik-cache, it just goes black for a little while and then returns to the previous menue. I assume that it did not wipe, right? Or is it freezing for some other reason?
Thanks.

What recovery are you using? Clockwork had been known to not be wiping the Dalvick, you will need to flash RA-Recovery if that's what your using.

Reactions: Yoketah
Upvote 0
have you tried doing the full 100% phone wipe (data/cache/dalvik cache) then trying to install a kernel?

You are not trying to install just a kernel, are you? I mean you are installing a ROM right (first)?

Wiping the Data isnt neccesary, and can even cause problems for example i was chasing a re-boot problem for weeks after flashing kernels when i found that it was because i was wiping data/cache and dalvik from my recovery as opposed to just the cache and dalvik.

But a full wipe and install of your ROM (assuming you installed one ;)) then a flash of your kernel should do the trick. you might also make sure your kernel is compatible with your ROM, (Fresh 3.2 has a Fresh compatible kernel from netarchy, stuff like that)

Good luck!

Upvote 0