1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Damage back to Fresh 1.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sparky7474, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. sparky7474

    sparky7474 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    91
    10
    18
    Ok so here are my thoughts.... I really liked damaged and fresh 2.1 roms, but I want to go back to fresh 1.1 which I REALLY l;iked a lot with Gumbo Kernal and setcpu. It was nice to look at the upcoming update, but I think I want to wait until sprint comes out with thiers and then it gets modded. So my question is can i go back to Fresh 1.1 without wiping, and only flashing. It isn't a big lost for me not to wipe, or is it madatory to wipe when going back to an older rom?

    Thanks for the info in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. cirehawk

    cirehawk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    278
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    278
    8
    36
    Southern California
    From all I have heard, you should always wipe when going from a 1.x rom to a 2.x rom, or vice versa.
     
  3. sparky7474

    sparky7474 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    91
    10
    18
    OK thanks.... Just a quick fyi... I did try to flash back to fresh 1.1 without wiping... and a lot of stugff wasn't there that should of been on my home page, so it got messed, so I am in the process of wiping right now and flashing fresh 1.1 again...
     
  4. sparky7474

    sparky7474 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    91
    10
    18
    *Update* Ok... so I had to wipe, and all is functioning GREAT now! God I love tinkering...
     
  5. cirehawk

    cirehawk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    278
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    278
    8
    36
    Southern California
    Great. Glad you are back in business. And yes, tinkering is great.
     
  6. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    As a tip, here is what I often do. I'll flash a ROM and get it the way I like it, make a nandroid backup and store that on my PC. Then, when a new ROM comes out to test, I do the same thing. I install it, and make a nandroid. Then, when I'm ready to switch back, I can just nandroid back :).
     
  7. showbo

    showbo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    147
    24
    38
    Network Technician
    New Mexico
    Laugh, never though of that...but I NEVER go back, only forward! ONWARD!


    Oscar
     
  8. Danokan

    Danokan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    186
    18
    38
    I stuck with Fresh 1.1, Gumbo, SetCPU.

    Will stay that way UNTIL the update comes out and the devs have a chance to modify it.
     
  9. stevedave

    stevedave Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009

    Jul 4, 2009
    90
    8
    16
    Raleigh, NC
    I am doing the same thing. No disrespect for what has been accomplished with those ROMs but i dont want a hacked together version of 2.1. I feel happy with what I have now. And I will happily switch over once we get a Hero specific version of the update.
     
  10. Destructo21

    Destructo21 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    15
    0
    15
    Remember if you go from 2.1 back to 1.5 you have to do a market fix not all copy protected apps will show, don't matter if you did a nandroid backup it still won't show up for you. It's in Google's end that screws it up. Here's the link to fix and only fix
    [RESOLVED] Market problems anyone? - xda-developers
     
  11. DanielWalker

    DanielWalker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    158
    0
    55
    Paratrooper and Student
    Detroit, MI, USA
    That's odd, I have never had that issue. I have wiped and tried 3 or 4 of the 2.1 ROMs going around and when I want to go back I have just restored my nandroid and viola everything works as if I never switched.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...