1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Dashes in Telephone Number

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Calkacky, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. Calkacky

    Calkacky Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    53
    1
    16
    Is there a way to make my phone add the dashes that normally show up when you put in a phone number. I just get a list of numbers with no dashes or no spaces and it is very hard to tell if I mistyped the number.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. joetarin

    joetarin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    52
    1
    16
    i doubt there would be an option for this. The logic would be too difficult as not all numbers have the dashes in the same spot (i.e. international numbers)
     
  3. mj_b90

    mj_b90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    105
    20
    58
    It's a feature that's pretty common even in old dumb phones, so I'm positive that's not an issue :p

    There are lots of other dialer apps in the market but I've never tried one myself. One might have this already.
     
  4. joey3002

    joey3002 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    please post if you make any progress with this..

    thanks
     
  5. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    791
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    791
    26
    68
    Often times, the "old dumb phones" were unique to a region, i.e. North America, where the assumption of the phone number format was known. Android phones aren't region-specific so the same assumptions can't be made.
     
  6. odaxium

    odaxium Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    78
    1
    16
    It's really not that hard to add the dashes

    [edit] i should rephrase that. it shouldn't be that hard to add the dashes, i haven't found an option to add them
     
  7. rickyroma

    rickyroma Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I'm looking for a way to get rid of the dashes.
     
  8. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    791
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    791
    26
    68
    Presuming you use Google Contacts, export your contact list to CSV. Open the spreadsheet and tell the spreadsheet to replace "-" with "" in that column only. Save and import back into Google Contacts.
     
  9. Kaessa

    Kaessa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    654
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    654
    222
    93
    Female
    Disabled
    Colorado
    Try "Contacts Clean-up" from the market. Make ALL of your numbers in your contact list the same (add or remove dashes or dots).
     
  10. dinym

    dinym Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    5
    2
    6
    If you want to have NO dashes, select : Settings > Language and keyboard > Select Language > English (United Kingdom) or English (Philippines). To ADD dashes to phone number format : English (United States).
     
  11. vecon

    vecon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012

    Jun 19, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    Thanks so much, this is something you never thought that can remove the dash. Other people are using ATT version Galaxy Note in the States don't have dashes in their phone number. This is so unbelievable and I am glad I found your post. Thanks so much!

    But I am still having problem sending MMS from my Galaxy Note (unlocked) using tmobile SIM card. No problem with sms.
     

Share This Page

Loading...