1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Data Allowance on T-Mob contract from MobilePhonesDirect.com

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by acuk, May 17, 2010.

  1. acuk

    acuk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    33
    1
    16
    Just a quick question to those who have brought the Desire from mobilephonesdirect.com on a T-mobile contract.

    What data allowance have you got? Have you got the standard 3Gb T-mob gives to Android phones or have you got less?

    I have browsed their site and under their 'unlimited mobile internet' it says 1Gb.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Many thanks!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    546
    84
    78
    England
    You get 1gb,however if you ring T-Mobile you can get the full 3gb by stating that it's in T-Mobiles t&c's that all android phones get 3gb.I have done this and so have others on other forums.some people have had to argue their case with T-Mobile but the lady I spoke to done it without any hassle.You also seem to get better net speeds on the 3gb package.;)
     
  3. houdini2005

    houdini2005 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    29
    5
    16
    if your provider contract is T-mob then your allowance will be 3gb as is on all T-mob android phones.
     
  4. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    546
    84
    78
    England

    Not true.

    With most 3rd party sellers you will only get 1gb,you have to ring T-Mobile to get put on the 3gb net.

    An easy way to test is to run a speed test as I've heard that T-Mobile throttle speeds on the 1gb package,they certainly did for me,I can remember what the result of my test was on the 1gb but as soon as I moved to 3gb the speeds drastically improved.

    Another thing op,MobilePhonesDirect seem to register the phone as a Nokia,don't know why.

    My speed test btw:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. 4ndyroid

    4ndyroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    If you look at the t.mobile website and the plan for the free desire at
     
  6. weirdNumber

    weirdNumber Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    123
    16
    38
    Just ring T-Mobile and say you have an Android phone so you need the free web'n'walk plus put on your account. If you are on a new plan you can then switch your flexible booster to something other than the unlimited internet.

    Without it your FUP is 1Gb and your speeds are throttled to 384kbits. With it you get a 3Gb FUP and HSDPA data rates.
     
    Vip8888 likes this.
  7. marand

    marand Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    I am in the same boat. I spoke to 4 different people at T Mobile, the first one said you have 3Gb, great thinks I.

    Better double check this to be safe. Next one said its 1Gb as I have a N900, not so I have a Desire. They transfer me to technical who refer me back to Mobilephonesdirect, as they can not change handset info as it is automated.

    They,Mobilephonesdirect, can only send me a copy of the invoice proving the IEMI is for a Desire and I can then take it up with T Mobile. But it would make no difference, says Mobilephonesdirect, as they only have a 1GB fair use policy not 3Gb. :thinking:

    Not happy phoned T Mobile back and explained that MPD would not or could not re submit the info about my handset as there is a glitch or arrangement that they register them as N900`s. Referred them to the T&C on the site regarding Android phones 3Gb fair use, the guy went away for about 5 mins.

    The guy I spoke to could see all the other notes about it, and spoke to his manager who said she would add the Web and Walk Plus to my account and a credit to offset it every month as I have a Desire not a N900. Also put a special note on the account informing others the handset is a Desire not N900.

    Remains to be seen if it gets done, or if it gets lost in the system, have the guys name and managers name and team number if I have any problems.
     
  8. rodhull

    rodhull Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    I had little hassle getting mine changed over through the standard customer support. However, it took a little arguing, but they caved and switched me over after being put on hold for a while.

    My wife wasn't so fortunate when she tried when her new Desire arrived from MPD. The regular customer services would not budge an inch and said they would happily change her but she would *have* to pay the extra
     
    Vip8888 likes this.
  9. 4ndyroid

    4ndyroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    This is the trouble, nothing appears g'td.

    BuyMobilePhones are the same as MPD, they also show a 1Gb FUP for all T-Mobile plans which contradicts the 3GB FUP for all Android based phones as stated in T-Mobiles own FUP.

     
  10. acuk

    acuk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    33
    1
    16
    Brilliant, thanks for the info guys.

    So basically when my Desire arrives (whenever that will be), get on the blower to the tech support at t-mob and tell them that i have only got 1gb data but as i have an HTC Desire which is Android, i should actually be getting 3gb according to their T&C's...and see what happens!

    Cheers!
     
  11. cupidstunt

    cupidstunt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    28
    4
    16
    I tried about 5 times to call t mobile toget it changed and dueto vigilant call logs where I was consistently told I would have to pay 5 pounds per month extra they wouldnt budge! :mad:

    I caved in and agreed to pay as having a throttled hsdpa service defeats the point of having the phone. Might ring back and complain after reading this thread though.
     
  12. acuk

    acuk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    33
    1
    16
    Crikey! Just been browsing the Tmob forums and it looks like its a pain to get the 3gb!

    Tmob claim you have to pay
     
  13. OFI

    OFI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    580
    53
    78
    To be honest i'm with T-Mobile on this one..

    You didn't take out the contract with T-Mobile you were given a specific package by an agent in order to undercut T-Mobile. The cost savings are there because the terms are offering you less (1GB not 3GB).

    If you manage to negotiate them into changing it then good for you but the deals I have seen have been pretty clear what you are buying into..
     
  14. rosco1712

    rosco1712 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    Before I ordered my Desire from MPD, I contacted T-Mobile about the data FUP. I was told that Android phones get 3gb allowance regardless of where they purchased. I was also told that any problems with the phone,I need to get in touch with the seller, and problems with the account, I get in touch with T-Mobile. I have since checked my account on T-Mobile and they are showing I have a Desire and have since spoken to them and they have confirmed I have 3gb allowance.
     
  15. marand

    marand Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    Well MPD told me yesterday they use "dummy" IMEI numbers when they register your handset with T Mobile.

    These are supplied to them, they say, by T Mobile in blocks. Sounds strange to me as these are tied to the handset, when talking to the customer support at TMobile they had a different IMEI number on my account to the actual handset I have. They checked my IMEI I gave them and confirmed it was indeed for a Desire. They put a special note on my account about it being a Desire not N900.

    I was advised to get a copy of the invoice with the IMIE number that corresponds to my handset as proof in case of any problems in the future, I intend to email them a copy to hold on record as the Desire has a two year warranty according to TMobile.

    Now, several phone calls later I have the confirmation text that I am indeed on WW Plus and its free. Also have the names and team numbers, dates of the individuals I spoke to, and I have backed up the SMS confirming this. :D

    I was told it was a promotion for Android phones and had not been applied to my account, the final rep I spoke to did not even know it was 3gb for Android handsets but checked the T&C and spoke to her manager.

    They took off the standard WW and added the WW Plus with no price increase. Still got the issue that they think I have a N900 but can take my invoice into a TMobile shop or email them directly when I have it.

    I must admit I was under the impression that my contract was with TMobile as I pay them directly not MPD. But either way, the T&C are clear on the TMobile site.

    ----------edit-----------
    speed test result.
    [​IMG]
     
  16. jimmyb79

    jimmyb79 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    25
    2
    16
    Kent, UK
    I've just run the Mobile Speed Test on my Desire which I bought from mobilephonesdirect
    I have no idea what net I'm on, and I haven't spoken to customer services, but I'm guessing from the results of the speed test, I'm on the higher net....

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Desire D

    Desire D Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    157
    8
    36
    London
    I'm with Virgin (which is basically T-Mobile for 3G as I understand it) who give 1GB a month allowance, just done a speed test though and got 2439kbps which I'm impressed with :)
     
  18. OFI

    OFI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    580
    53
    78
    Best i've got so far (T-mobile Direct):

    [​IMG]

    Funny how it fluctuates so much even when you have a pretty good signal...

    [​IMG]

    :D

    Wish I could say I got the same speeds at home or work..
     
  19. mephisto

    mephisto Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    Some good info there guys, I have been having trouble with slow speeds so after reading this thread i will ring t mobile and see if i am 3gb or not
     
  20. ifb-online

    ifb-online Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    725
    52
    78
    Male
    Journalist and publisher
    Hemel Hempstead, UK
  21. acuk

    acuk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    33
    1
    16
    Thats Brilliant news!!:D

    I'm waiting for my Desire to arrive from mobilephonesdirect, but as soon as i get it i'll give T-Mobile a call and see what happens!
     
  22. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    I'm getting speeds of 2700kbps from that website, does that mean I'm on the 3GB allowance?

    From SpeedTest.com I was only getting 0.24mbps...
     
  23. ifb-online

    ifb-online Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    725
    52
    78
    Male
    Journalist and publisher
    Hemel Hempstead, UK
    Make sure your phone isn't connected via wifi when you do your speed test?

    Ian
     
  24. acuk

    acuk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    33
    1
    16
    Well after speaking to a few different people I have finally been upgraded to the 3gb package! :D

    Just one more question though. I have checked my account online and it says I have the Mobile Broadband Plus and the Unlimited Internet Booster. Can I change that booster to something like unlimited texts?

    Thanks for all the advice you have qiven me so far.
     
  25. ifb-online

    ifb-online Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    725
    52
    78
    Male
    Journalist and publisher
    Hemel Hempstead, UK
    Well done! I went through the same process after getting my Desire from mobiles.co.uk (part of Carphone Warehouse) I was told I had a redundant Unlimited Internet Booster after switch to the Web n Walk data plan, and was asked which other booster I'd like instead, so I chose unlimited landlines. I've had my phone for three weeks and have only used 2 minutes out of my 300 minutes of original calling quota, and all of that has been to check my voicemail!

    Oddly, I don't seem to have been charged for calls to other mobiles - I'll have to keep an eye on that!

    Ian
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...