1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Data connection drops. All the time. Anyone else?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tkolgen, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. kellygh5

    kellygh5 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    Mar 26, 2012
    19
    5
    16
    South Carolina
    Yes. A sim card is also one of the rare free things @ Verizon. Good luck.
     

    Advertisement

    herfjonez likes this.
  2. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    411
    43
    43
    It is really odd. Some people havent experienced any issues until a few days ago, others, for a few months and others have no problem. Cant imagine the latest update is the problem because it should be messing up every phone. Wonder if Verizon is rolling out updates to their 4G towers that is causing the issues and the updates have not reached every market? As for me, the only issue I have is losing 4G at home at times where at best I get 1 to 2 bars. This also has happened to my 3G phones too. Otherwise, i dont lose my data connection and I have had the phone for 45 days. Also I noticed this is not being discussed in the Razr thread, just here in the MAXX thread. I have also noticed it too over at another Razr forum. Just being discussed in the MAXX forum. Wonder if this just a Maxx issue?

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-forum/
     
  3. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #744
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    yeah....bizarre. i gotta get this fixed, as i'm getting sorta pissed at losing, or not even getting connectivity on a VERY regular basis now.
     
  4. dragonsamus

    dragonsamus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    317
    21
    38
    retail... bleh
    Sacramento, CA
    As of a couple days ago I've been noticing connectivity problems. The 4G icon and signal bars turn white and I end up rebooting the phone only to have the icons turn white again. I've noticed it at work and home. I thought VZW was working on their network but this has been going on a few days now. Feeling like going back to my Thunderbolt to see if this is happening on there too or if its a RAZR thing.
     
  5. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #744
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    just got back from the verizon store:

    "WHAT???? you're having WHAT kind of problem???"

    after laughing for ten minutes, i calmly stated my problems, yet the clerk STILL had to perform all of the perfunctory 'problem check' entities (rebooting, replacing sim card, et al)....and FINALLY agreed to give me a new sim card.

    my connectivity was restored....for a whopping TEN MINUTES....then right back to square one; off and on connectivity....totally sporadic.


    btw....my PRL was 15142 on the old card...and the new card is 15130. thus, neither 15142 nor 15130 seem to be curing the problems.

    UuuuuGGGGG. i'm pissed.
     
  6. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    411
    43
    43
    I have seen my 4G icon turn white, but I do not lose data connection. It works whether it is white or blue. Blue is suppose to mean it is connected to google services. The only time I lose data is when the 4G or 3G icon disappears. As long as it shows one or the other, data works no matter what color it is.
     
  7. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    411
    43
    43
    From all the internet posts about this problem, I am pretty much convinced this is a Razr Maxx problem, and doesn't affect the Razr. Something in the design of the Maxx, or defective LTE chips may be the problem.
     
  8. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #744
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    i'm thinking the same thing, inasmuch as it doesn't seem to be effecting other phones on this network. my son's bionic, and a friends 'regular' razr are not having these problems.

    but again, why has this just started (for most of us that are having the problem) in the past few weeks?
     
  9. cbreze

    cbreze Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    425
    28
    63
    Central Oregon
    I finally broke down and went in and got a new sim today. So far, so good, no drops. Also, the PRL which had rarely updated, updated immediately. I'm going to keep an eye on it and see if it updates occasionally.
     
  10. jamielov

    jamielov Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    46
    6
    16
    new Sim card, battery saver, 3g only setting, data recontion app, app monitoring app. This phone sure is a headache and a pain in the a$$ to get even to work semi properly.
     
  11. shelland

    shelland Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    189
    18
    38
    IT
    Twin Cities, MN
    Consider yourself lucky!

    I love both this phone and Android, but what a PITA.
     
  12. shelland

    shelland Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    189
    18
    38
    IT
    Twin Cities, MN
    I had the issue basically from the start when we got our Maxx's in Feb, but it didn't happen all that often. My wife got her phone at the same time and rarely had the issue, even if we sitting beside each other and I had lost data.

    My phone go worse after the last update, but my wife still didn't have the issue all that often (I updated hers the same day as mine). In the past week or just over her phone has started having the issue all the time - she even went about 2 days solid without every connecting to data at all.
     
  13. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #744
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    pardon my ignorance on this: what 'update' did we have recently? was it something that would have been pushed down to my phone...even without me being aware?

    thanks.
     
  14. vr4

    vr4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    230
    21
    38
    15142 prl on mine and having both issues. Happening since day 2 of owning the phone.
     
  15. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    411
    43
    43
    It doesn't appear to be a PRL issue since it is happening with different PRL's. Just about every PRL has been reported, some have problems, some do not. Replacing sim has solved problems for some, not for others. I tried dialing *611 and they have a huge wait time right now. Also do not base you data signal strength on the number of bars. The bars signify phone signal strength (1x) not 3G or 4G. Your phone may be showing 4 bars, but you could still have poor connection with 3G and 4G and thus data drops.
     
  16. cdf3

    cdf3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    186
    14
    38
    Hope they find a fix for it. This is too common of a problem.
     
  17. mrbutters

    mrbutters Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012

    Jun 15, 2012
    107
    7
    36
    Been having this issue last few weeks too. Just an FYI but I installed the latest ICS leak (.210) about an hour ago and have had no more problems with my data dropping, the 4G icon has stayed blue the whole time. I will continue to monitor it tonight and tomorrow and update how its going.
     
  18. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #744
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    Please do. keep us posted, as i (all of us) wanna get this fixed!

    btw....how to install that ICS .210 leak?
     
  19. goldenlight

    goldenlight Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    14
    1
    36
    After reading all these comments I can safely say its not my phone. Just replaced my sim card and downloaded the Restore Connectivity Settings app. Data drops have stopped for now..
     
  20. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #744
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    oh just give it a few mins.....lol

    i think everyone of us that's tried that has had momentary success, only to have the original problem return. but maybe (hopefully) it'll fix your particular phone.
     
  21. mrbutters

    mrbutters Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012

    Jun 15, 2012
    107
    7
    36
    Yep. Only fixed my issues for about 30-40 minutes and then same thing started up again. As for an update on my install of the .210 ICS leak, no problems to report yet. My data connection and speeds have been rock solid. Also, when I was stock yesterday, I could not get Foxfi to work at all. It kept saying that it couldn't connect due to a change in Motorola's upgrade. Maybe its that upgrade that started giving everyone trouble? Well either way, Foxfi works perfectly on this leak! That was worth installing it alone. For your question on how to get it, you have to root your phone and install the leak. build .211 just came out this morning when .210 was just out a few days ago. So thats a good sign for the official update coming sooner than later.
     
  22. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    411
    43
    43
    Foxfi continues to work fine for me. Perhaps verizon is rolling out updates to it's network with the expected release of ICS very soon and it has not hit every market yet. Since you switched to a beta ICS, it may already have incorporated the changes to the network. Just a guess.
     
  23. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #744
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    247
    8
    36
    So Cal
    my brand new THIRD razr maxx arrived a just few hours ago, and sure enough...IT will NOT hold a connection either.

    so...i'm about as convinced as i could be that the problem is/was not my particular phone(s), but something to do with many/all Maxx's, or the software, or Verizon's 4g, or.....
     
  24. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    411
    43
    43
    I tend to agree with you. What is catching my eye is the spike in reporting of this problem over the last week or two. My bet is on verizon rolling out some sort of network update that for some reason is affecting the Maxx. I can't believe it sim cards going bad en masse, but something that Verizon has done to affect this phone. It may be affecting other phones too, but since this is a Maxx thread, we assume it's just affecting the Maxx. If it is something verizon is doing, then this problem is going to become more widespread as the update spreads across their network.
     
  25. SamMax

    SamMax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,767
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    1,767
    1,683
    343
    Male
    Computer Home Theater Repair Installation
    IN
    I just picked up a maxx this week. I was at the doctors office and i was getting full reception 3G then it kept going back to 1x down to 2 bars.
     

Share This Page

Loading...