1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Data connection stops when a call comes in.

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Edalrat, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. Edalrat

    Edalrat Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    T-Mobile myTouch 3G
    Firmware version 1.6
    Baseband Version 62.505.20.17H_2.22.19.261
    Kernel Version 2.6.29.6-cm42
    Build Number DRC92

    I have an unlimited data plan through T-Mobile. I am using my phone in the United States, West Coast.

    The issue I am having is when I am using the Tethering for root user and I receive or send a call, my connection seems to pause. This also causes web pages to not load and the 3G or E icon goes away from the Status bar at the top of the screen. Does anyone know of a way for me to have the data connection continue when a cell call comes in?

    Thank you,
    Dale
     

    Advertisement

  2. jeffyo

    jeffyo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008

    Oct 1, 2008
    368
    9
    36
    Pharmaceuticals
    SF Bay Area
    Yep, that's what happens. It's normal.


    You can change the call forwarding option during the time you are using your tether to keep from getting an interruption.
     
  3. Edalrat

    Edalrat Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    That is what I have been hearing as well. That is my reason for asking if anyone knew a way around it.
     
  4. jeffyo

    jeffyo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008

    Oct 1, 2008
    368
    9
    36
    Pharmaceuticals
    SF Bay Area
    Nope. It's programed that way. I'm not sure if it's carrier specific but from my experience with T-Mobile G1 and the Eris, that's seems to be the case. I also used my G1 on ATT and it would stop Data if a call was being placed.
     
  5. Edalrat

    Edalrat Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    I am wondering if there are any developers that might know where in programming the phone is told to turn the data connection off. I do have root access on my phone and can make changes if I need to.
     
  6. nateo200

    nateo200 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    385
    3
    36
    cashier
    Yeah I'm pretty sure it has to do do with call priority which I think you can change. Also I'm pretty sure simaltanious data and voice is only capable of being done over WCDMA not EDGE/GPRS which would be the case of a G1 on AT&T since the freqquencys for WCDMA are different on tmobile and att.
     
  7. Josh0187

    Josh0187 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    53
    0
    35
    Geek Squad Counter Intelligence Agent.
    Bowling Green, Ohio.
    My Verizon Droid seems to turn off the 3G whenever a call comes through so I imagine it is for all thebcarriers.
     
  8. nateo200

    nateo200 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    385
    3
    36
    cashier
    Nope that's an inherate problem only with cdma2000 networks like verizon and sprint UMTS networks don't have this issue. If you read the thread you would know that.
     
  9. Josh0187

    Josh0187 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    53
    0
    35
    Geek Squad Counter Intelligence Agent.
    Bowling Green, Ohio.
    Well, I read your above post and I didn't think it pertained. Cell phones are not my specialty, PCs are.
     

Share This Page

Loading...