1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Data Counter Widget problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Crashtack, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. Crashtack

    Crashtack Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Does anyone have Data Counter Widget working on their Captivate? I installed it about 12 hours ago and it hasn't recorded any data usage yet. As far as I can tell it's set up properly. Am i missing something?
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. sremick

    sremick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    2,521
    356
    163
    IT Admin
    USA
    Are you on Wifi?

    The widget seems to only count going forward from when you installed it. If you're on wifi, there's not been any 3G/Edge data to count.
     
  3. Crashtack

    Crashtack Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I have been on both Wifi and 3g since installing. Still no data tracking since install.

    Has anyone out there tried this widget with success?
     
  4. beertha

    beertha Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    38
    6
    16
    That widget sucks, I had it installed too. 3g Watchdog is what you need and is free.
     
  5. Clovis

    Clovis Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    0
    15

    down load 3Gwatchdog from the market. It has been working really well for me. Like 3 1/2 songs from pandora were showing almost 7mb. It's a pretty cool widget, you make some choices to configure it, quite easy. you can use the widget or taskbar, or both like me.:)
     
  6. blazeplacid

    blazeplacid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    204
    11
    38
    Drafter
    DFW TX
    are you on at&t?

    go to your contacts on your phone and there is a number you can call "at&t data" or something similar, it will give you an up to the minute count of MB used
     
  7. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    590
    201
    113
    Bay Area, ca
    i would only worry about data usage if you are on the $15/200mb plan. Most people do not realize 2gb of data is way more than enough. I thought I used a lot of date but i only used close to 1gb on my Aria last month

    Edit: AT&T also sends you free text messages when you are at 60%, 90%, and 100% usage

    Edit one more time: AT&T does also have a "my wireless" app which allows you to view your account from your phone


    and just as an idea, for this bill cycle (15 days into the cycle) I have used 548mb of data, so if I keep using as much data as I do (and I work at AT&T so I use my phone a lot) ill only hit a little more than 1gb
     
  8. Crashtack

    Crashtack Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks for the suggestions. I have installed 3d Watchdog and it seems to work well.
     
  9. hoodtrix

    hoodtrix Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    just down loading 3g watch dog, but i cant seem to find out how to change the DATE, my cycle is the 28th but it started count down from today
     

Share This Page

Loading...