1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Data Network Mode

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TigerMan007, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. TigerMan007

    TigerMan007 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Since upgrading my Samsung Galaxy Apollo I see that I have a new option called "Data Network Mode" when I press and hold the power button.

    What is this option for?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. milesbennetdyson

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It just turns the data connection on/off. Your 3G etc. If you pull down the notifications window from the status bar, you can it on/off there too, along with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, GPS and Auto Rotation. It does seem a bit odd adding it to the power button menu though.
     
  3. TigerMan007

    TigerMan007 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Thanks.

    After I purchased the phone I noticed that it connected to the internet at it's own accord. I never wanted a phone with Internet access only a simple to use phone. Carphone Warehouse advised me to download APNdroid to turn off the 3G etc. So can I delete APNdroid and use the Samsung option to do the same thing?
     
  4. skivit

    skivit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    i used to use APNdroid before the upgrade, just use the samsung one now, although i dont have it on the pull down menu, only with the power button....
     
  5. milesbennetdyson

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yep, as skivit says just turn it off with the power button or pull down menu.
     
  6. Waspsforever

    Waspsforever Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    18
    2
    16
    Its not on the pull down notifications window status bar on my phone, perhaps it was but disappears when you update it.
     
  7. milesbennetdyson

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    That's odd that I'm the only one with it on the Notifications window! I'm on Orange so have their branded update, so maybe it's something to do with that, I've no idea. I didn't have it there before the 2.2 update.
     
  8. skivit

    skivit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    running the live wallpaper froyo, dont remember if it was there before! installed apndroid because for 2 months my cell bill was 10x the usual amount because it was connecting to the net every minute, luckily my provider stepped in...... always check my usage now, had apn again after the upgrade, but strange things were happening, so i uninstalled it and just use the power button instead.
     
  9. seanaguiling

    seanaguiling Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013

    Aug 1, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    [QUOTE=sean

    hey guys do you kow how to get a Data Network Mode in power botton in samsung galaxy y ??? pls reply asap
     

Share This Page

Loading...