1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Data no longer works while on phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sjboyd81, May 6, 2010.

  1. sjboyd81

    sjboyd81 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    I had heard Verizon was unable to allow voice and data usage at the same time. However, when I got my DI I was able to surf the web while talking on the phone. Then this morning Verizon pushes out some update and suddenly when im on the phone 3g disappears.from the top bar and I get an error message that I can't connect to the web. What happened and is there anyway.to reverse this?!
     

    Advertisement

  2. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    Sorry bud, data + voice is impossible on and CDMA network unless you are on WiFi. Any other claim is completely and totally false.
     
  3. kwest12

    kwest12 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    474
    69
    73
    Are you sure that you weren't using voice and wifi together before? As far as I know, Verizon has never supported simultaneous voice and data connections. As an alternative, most of vzw's recent smartphones allow voice + wifi to achieve the same thing....

    EDIT: looks like someone beat me to it lol
     
  4. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    It's not even something VZW could just allow anyway. It's a hardware limitation of CDMA.
     
  5. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    its funny i still see people claim and swear that they can do it, BB and androids both.

    My guess was wifi was active :)
     
  6. Rubik76

    Rubik76 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    546
    158
    93
    I'm pretty sure if the current CDMA spec allowed for both at once, Verizon wouldn't be finding ways to eliminate it...
     

Share This Page

Loading...