1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Data Plan / Wireless Network

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chrisxmartin, Jul 9, 2009.

  1. chrisxmartin

    chrisxmartin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009

    Jul 9, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    I'd like to set it up so that it will use my wireless network only since I don't have a data plan and would rather not seeing any charges sneaking up on me. Any suggestions? I'm using an unlocked one on an AT&T network.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Swizz

    Swizz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008

    Nov 10, 2008
    730
    95
    78
    Portland, OR
  3. chrisxmartin

    chrisxmartin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009

    Jul 9, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    I was wondering if I could alter my APN to make it impossible to connect.. or would that alter my ability to do something else?
     
  4. chrisxmartin

    chrisxmartin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009

    Jul 9, 2009
    4
    0
    5
  5. samuelmaskell

    samuelmaskell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    May 11, 2009

    May 11, 2009
    293
    3
    56
    Software Engineering Student
    Victoria,BC
    just get APNDroid. It's free and it automatically changes your APN and then it's just one click to change it right back. Works great.
     
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    You know if you had dont a TAG search for APN you would have found a lot more info on APN than you probably needed.

    here is one post from that search ... >>>> http://androidforums.com/support/5453-internet-g1.html#post35944

    People here dont mind helping but a search of the forums is consider to be your first attempt. If you are going to be lazy then expect to get comments you find useless... A person that doesn't help themselves is usually considered useless as well.

    So the person you think was useless was giving you a bit of a lesson on self-help. So there is no reason to be curt and rude about your self-inflicted problem.
     
  7. chrisxmartin

    chrisxmartin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009

    Jul 9, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    I honestly did look it up and I couldn't find exactly what I was looking for. I guess I just wasn't searching the right thing. Please don't mistake my inability to find an answer on my own for laziness :)
     
  8. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    1,012
    72
    128
    If you're on T-Mobile, all you have to do is cancel the data package. Unlike some carriers, T-Mobile doesn't let you use data if you're not on a plan. There won't be any accidental fees because you won't be allowed to connect.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...