1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Data Services governer kill

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mr. Ed, Dec 28, 2010.

  1. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder

    Advertisement

  2. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Basically, if notice your data speeds going down after using an excessive amount of data, your connection is being throttled. It turns out this is defined somehow in services.jar. This mod removes it so that you never have to worry about being throttled. In theory, if you use your phone like normal, and never using *that* much data, I doubt you'll notice much from this mod...other than the placebo effect, possibly ;).

    That being said, I can confirm that this will be included in Myn's warm RLS5. He added it in last night's nightly release.
     
  3. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder


    sweet!

    and I use a TON of data. typically the interwebz gets so slow though that I give up and pull out the laptop or get on a desktop at work.

    so far today this seems to be making a HUGE difference
     
  4. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Sounds like you might be one of the people who will actually benefit from this, then. Cool :).
     
  5. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    I haven't applied this update yet, so I'll just ask you. If you go to menu->settings->wireless & networks->mobile networks, do you get a force close? I've been hearing that this mod will do that.
     
  6. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    yes, but mine was foreclosing prior to this
     
  7. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Oh, that's strange. When did that start?
     
  8. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    after flashing rsl4. I never really use it so haven't been worried about it lol
     
  9. niphoet

    niphoet Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Boot loop on CM6 Nightly Build 203...FYI
     
  10. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    did you read the thread at all or just flash it?

    cm6 has other edits in the services.jar file.

    you will need to modify that file manually or use something similar to this

    xda-developers - View Single Post - [GUIDE] How to defeat data throttling

    I didn't develop this, I don't use CM6...all I can do is point you back to that thread....and suggest reading it entirely ;)
     
  11. HTCRALEIGHFAN

    HTCRALEIGHFAN Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    164
    28
    43
    AMERICAN REDCROSS
    RALEIGH, NC
    i installed this yesterday and went in to a home screen and bootscreen loop lol!

    backup ftw! but now google widget is f'ed lol!
     
  12. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    what rom...and which google widget?
     
  13. HTCRALEIGHFAN

    HTCRALEIGHFAN Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    164
    28
    43
    AMERICAN REDCROSS
    RALEIGH, NC

    rom: burnt droid...i had the homescreen and bootscreen loop. it would goto my home screen stay there like 5 secs and then bootscreen over and over

    i meant to say gmail!! but the odd sh!t is after i posted that it was broken here like 15 mins later it was working again!
     
  14. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    odd. I am going to be looking more into what he changed in the services.jar tomorrow and try the copy paste add method
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...