1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Data synching wont STOP!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sx4dude2013, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    I just got on gingerbread and the stupid lil circle with arrows wil NOT go away...
    [​IMG]Data is syncing symbol.

    Has anyone had this issues. I have looked into my settings and cant figure out how to make it stop..
    I tried Longpress on homescreen>Widgets>Power options> and turned off the symbol.

    Has anyone else had this issue with GB? Never had it before...
     

    Advertisement

  2. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    its a known issue if you did not wipe data and cache. reboot to recovery and wipe data and cache or a factory reset. you will need to let all your apps re download and redo your settings but that is how you solve it.
     
  3. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    Just go into D2 recovery and wipe data/cache...and reinstall everything? Will it unroot me???
    Can I get Z4root back?
     
  4. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    No it will not unroot you , it will only erase user data and you will need to let all your apps re sync from the market
    And no you need to do a wipe/factory reset from stock recovery to get the sync icon to go away
     
  5. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    Isn't this just the BlurContactsSync bug? Rename it and be done...
     
  6. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    That's what I chose to do at first and it worked well. However, I do think that your phone will stop syncing your contacts if you disable it this way. I knew that I would only be on stock for a short time so it wasn't a big deal for me.
     
  7. dragonbro

    dragonbro Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    262
    25
    43
    Bay Area, CA
    Same thing happened to me when I went to GB. Go into the "factory recovery", not Bootstrap and wipe data/cache.

    Quoted from another post: "Also, hold down power and home key when powered off, you will have to hold both volume rockers down at the same time to get the menu to pop up, then use the power button to select."
     
  8. Greavous

    Greavous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    589
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    589
    67
    98
    Male
    Leather Wheel re-Skinner
    New Braunfels, Texas
    even simpler is to go into system/app and rename the BlurContactsSync.apk to .bak and its gone.
     
  9. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010


    Agree that this is an easy method but then you have to remember about it and may forget when you go to update through an ota, I was helping someone on another forum ( actually 2 people ) who did this method and even after sbfing their issue was not corrected, we went round and round for hours until it finally dawned on them that they renamed it and then we were able to fix their issue
     
  10. superspiderman

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    ok i know i'm a lil behind on times but i'm looking for someone or somewhere to help me root my d2g with android version 2.2 and system version 2.4.330 so is there anyone that can help me or let me know it the z4 will work on it
     
  11. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,422
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,422
    157
    143
    After you do the factory reset the sync icon goes away. So will it continue to sync as normal when it's supposed to?
     
  12. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010


    Should yes
     
  13. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,422
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,422
    157
    143
    O'k, thanks gmen. I knew about this fix but I was lazy and didn't want to go through the adding everything again...lol. But after seeing this post it reminded me of it and damn, It started to bug me again so I took the plunge and did the reset.

    But i guess the more I do to this thing and more often, the more and faster I learn.
     
  14. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010


    Yup soon you will be able to set it back up in a flash lol, to wipe data and do a fresh clean restore and install is always the best thing to do, it may take a few to re set everything but will usually save you headaches in the end with issues that may arise from not wiping data
     

Share This Page

Loading...