1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Data throttling on cm11

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Xavier1022, Feb 15, 2014.

  1. Xavier1022

    Xavier1022 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013

    Dec 8, 2013
    42
    3
    16
    In School
    Does anybody know how to stop data throttling on cm11 ?? It is so annoying without throttle I get somewhere between 100KB/s -300 KB/s but when boost mobile throttle speeds it shoots down to like 40KB/s MAX. Its so anyoying. Anyone from boost mobile knows what I'm talking about. But if you havea mmethod on how to stop it please tell me. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,391
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,391
    2,898
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Boost does the throttling at the server, there's nothing you can do on your end. If they're sending you the data slowly you're going to receive it slowly.
     
    SuperR likes this.
  3. boricuakiller

    boricuakiller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,157
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012

    Aug 30, 2012
    1,157
    73
    128
    Male
    muisic producer at bad seed family
    puerto rico
    i had the same problem
     
  4. cakalala43

    cakalala43 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    61
    8
    16
    Female
    There IS a way to unthrottle from the ##DATA# menu, which i assume is illegal, but you can only do it from either stock or stock rooted.
     
  5. Xavier1022

    Xavier1022 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013

    Dec 8, 2013
    42
    3
    16
    In School
    Yes ik but i never knew how to do it :/ ik its ##DATA# but im afraid ima mess it up...but actually its still an issue because i don't have my zte warp sequent (well i do just not turned on and is in one of my shoeboxes for a backup phone) i now have the Moto G from Boostmobile which is the best phone for its price category and i got mine for $89 on ebay and yes only $89 for a quad core snapdragon 400 proccesor and 720 display :). However i am rooted on my moto g running stock rom and im pretty sure the ##DATA# is still possible correct?
     
  6. cakalala43

    cakalala43 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    61
    8
    16
    Female
    I'm not entirely sure...
    Every phone is different, and every carrier is different.

    On some carriers, the data menu entry is ##PROGRAM#
    On others, its *#*#DATA#*#*

    Just mess with different variations until you find it.
    Sadly, i'm running cm11 on my Galaxy SIII And i can't find a way in either :/
     
  7. Xavier1022

    Xavier1022 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013

    Dec 8, 2013
    42
    3
    16
    In School
    Yes i just tried ##DATA# and it works i got to the hidden menu but idk wat to do from there
     
  8. cakalala43

    cakalala43 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    61
    8
    16
    Female
  9. Xavier1022

    Xavier1022 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013

    Dec 8, 2013
    42
    3
    16
    In School
    Have you tried this method by any chance ?
     
  10. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    I don't own this phone but i use a VPN like Hotspot Shield to protect from T-Mobile throttling my internet on my nexus 5 it basically "hides" your data usage
     
  11. Xavier1022

    Xavier1022 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013

    Dec 8, 2013
    42
    3
    16
    In School
    I didnt know hotspot shiled hid data tracking ? I have hotspot shield on my phone however i only use at school to get past the restrictions when I'm connected to wifi .. I never use it on 3G . Hmm does it work foreal?
     
  12. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    Yea I used to use it at school but all the freshman don't know how to hide it and they decided to show every teacher so they blocked vpns (sorry for the rambling) but yes it does just how it helps you get past restrictions at school the same for mobile data
     
  13. DimBulb

    DimBulb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    Dec 31, 2012
    350
    105
    68
    Minnesota
    jlede, thanks for that knowledge, I had no idea such software existed.

    After seeing your information, I did some reading. And I found out, that HotSpot Shield, may have millions and millions of users, the reviews tho, were awful, almost no one had any kind of good experience to report.

    So, I passed on it, but liking the idea, and digging some, found one I was willing to try.

    Vitatun has excellent reviews, and will respond when customers have problems. It's a paid service, (cheap), and it's world-wide.

    I installed it on my Warp 2, and also on my Windows XP Desktop. (via website).

    Took a look at my data usage at the Boost mobile website.

    What that showed me, was today after multiple times of connecting, and browsing, than checking ... the Boost account data was 1298.13 for the month.

    And than about an hour later and after again running up about 17MB of data used, ... there was NO CHANGE to that DATA total.

    In the past that has ALWAYS showed the slightest change and updates the use each time it's viewed.

    After 2 hours of use,and another 107MB of data, (watched a TED talk), the boost site, shows NO data use past 1298.13

    I think, this could be significant, if it continues to what? Hide usage? over a month?

    Thanks for the info.
     
  14. DimBulb

    DimBulb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    Dec 31, 2012
    350
    105
    68
    Minnesota
    OK, uh, ...never-mind.

    Not seeing what I'd hoped overnight. Boost is still keeping count.

    Anyway, can't say I don't get enthusiastic. :eek:
     
  15. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    Throttling is done on Boost's end, not on the device. If they are providing data to your device, they know about it. Sorry everyone but if you want unlimited data without a throttle, choose a different carrier.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  16. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    so they throttle it then send it to the device or send it then throttle it could you explain a bit more (i have unlimited on T-Mobile USA (MetroPCS) but i still get throttle probably because i use 20+ GB a month of LTE and HSPA+)
     
  17. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    It is similar to a cable internet connection where if you pay for 40MB/s you don't get 100MB/s. No matter what you do on your device, they still only give you a restricted amount of data.
     
  18. starkraving

    starkraving Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,484
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013

    Apr 27, 2013
    2,484
    1,363
    323
    Male
    Contractor
    Las Vegas, Nv
    Removing throttling will only work if its not server side throttling. Otherwise it is what it is. :(
     
  19. pope15

    pope15 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014

    Sep 28, 2014
    63
    13
    28
    Male
    Student
    Popeland
    I do this at school however the Tech guy is my friend and obviously told me not to show anyone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...