1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Data transfer from S6 to S21

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Venger, Feb 5, 2021.

1. Venger

Venger Newbie

Hi,

I received my S21 today and I'm going to be transferring all my data across from an S6 - trouble is the charging socket on the S6 has long stopped working so I cannot connect the phones directly via cable.

I'm happy to use Smart Switch wirelessly, altho apparently it could take 6hrs+ but I'm wondering, would it be quicker to back the S6 up to Google or Samsung cloud (I've never done this before so it would be a full backup, don't know how long that would take) and then download or restore to the S21 ?

There's approx. 60GB of data to transfer.

Many thanks for your time.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. ocnbrze

ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!

6hours? 60g worth of data? is this photos or videos? are they not on a sd card? when i went from the note 8 to my note 10+, it took minutes to do....of course i did not have 60g worth of data to port over.

i think smart switch would be the easiest and quickest way. with 60g worth of stuff, it could take just as long with either cloud service.

ironass likes this.
  3. Venger

Venger Newbie

Photos, videos, music...the S6 didn't have an expandable memory, so no SD card.

tbh I'm tempted to agree with you, think it's gonna take an age either way.

ocnbrze likes this.
  4. ocnbrze

i would also look into using google photos as well. let is sync all of your photos and videos to the cloud. when you get your new phone, you just sign in to google and your photos will be there. no transfer or even have to use smart switch.

5. svim

svim Extreme Android User