1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Data usage help.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Walleep, May 3, 2012.

1. Walleep

Walleep Lurker
    None

May 3, 2012
    Hello I was wondering if I could get some help as I am very confused, I have done quite a bit of googling etc and I cannot find anything really that has put me to ease. I have not long had my Galaxy S2 (I am not tech savvy) and I have installed My Data Manager since the beginning to keep and eye on what was going on. But this month I have noticed that 'OS Services' has increased from it's usual 1-5MB a month to 141MB so far this month.
    This month I have installed some games etc which I haven't before such as Draw Something and I didn't know if that was causing an issue but I also found that playing things and doing stuff on my phone while the data network mode is turned off that the OS Service data usage continues to go up, and therefore contributes to the overall data for the month :thinking:, does this actually count even though it is turned off? And is there any reason why it would make such as massive leap to 141MB?

Advertisement

2. Walleep

Walleep Lurker
    None

May 3, 2012
    Nobody? =/

3. Shotgun84

Shotgun84 Extreme Android User

May 30, 2011
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Welcome to the forum mate, sorry for the delay.
    Android OS services is just a fancy way of saying data services(I think). So by downloading a couple of apps from google play you've used data, therefore it went up. I hope that helps. Honestly I've never paid attention to what's using my data as I've always had all you can eat so I wouldn't bet my life.

4. Russell Ng

Russell Ng Android Expert
    None

Sep 29, 2011
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Downloads are under downloads.