1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Data usage warning indicator. How to disable/tweak?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dbastl, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. dbastl

    dbastl Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    24
    11
    18
    So this warning just popped up that on my task bar that links to the usage app. How do I get this to go away? Also, why am I getting data usage warnings? Isn't data unlimited (I know it's not truly unlimited, but I'm only at 2 GB)

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,779
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,779
    1,285
    323
    You must have accidentally checked the box for setting a data limit.
    There is a warning at 2GB and a limit at 5GB if you so choose. Sprint has unlimited data currently.

    You'll want to go to:
    Settings -> More (Under Mobile Network) -> Usage and then uncheck Set Data Usage Limit.
    (If it is greyed out, toggle your mobile network on and then it will let you select it.)
     
  3. dbastl

    dbastl Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    24
    11
    18
    So the data usage toggle is not clicked. Any other ideas?

    [​IMG]
     
    PyroSporker likes this.
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Just raise the bar at where it warns you & maybe toggle the checkbox.

    While sprint does have unlimited data, this phone is basically the One X which is made for many different carriers.
     
  5. dbastl

    dbastl Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    24
    11
    18
    Yep, that did it. Didn't realize that bar could be raised as well. :eek:

    Thanks!
     
    marctronixx and EarlyMon like this.
  6. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,779
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,779
    1,285
    323
    So I was in the usage screen to re-turn off background data (I keep it always off unless required, though it got bumped on the other day) and decided to peek at my usage for the past week. I'm curious because I'm a bit confused at what I saw:
    Internet - 130MB (128MB Foreground, 2MB Background)
    Android OS - 123MB (all background data)


    My phone is as stock as can be with no accounts configured for anything, no data polling or back up, no automatic options, I keep radios off unless in use, etc.
    I use the internet browser, messaging, and dialer and that is literally about it for typical day in day out purposes - nothing was out of the ordinary for the past week I can remember.

    I'm wondering why my OS background data would be so high, it seems? Or is it within the realm of normal? :thinking:
     
  7. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    That update you just downloaded :p
     
    PyroSporker likes this.
  8. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,779
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,779
    1,285
    323
  9. mocokonuts

    mocokonuts Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012

    Oct 16, 2012
    1
    0
    5
  10. arcanemirage

    arcanemirage Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012

    Oct 29, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    The other thing you can do is go to the "t-mobile my account" app and click on the bottom bar that has 3 dots. Then click on options and it will allow you to choose which notifications (if any) that you want.
     
  11. ravenhawke

    ravenhawke Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013

    Apr 19, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    OH MY GOD thank you I have been SO ANNOYED by this as well..... I just now created an account JUST TO SAY THANK YOU..... btw I'm on Samsung Galaxy Note I.
     

Share This Page

Loading...