1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Data usage warning

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fakethriller, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. Fakethriller

    Fakethriller Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    17
    0
    35
    I just hit the 2GB mark for data use (only had the phone for 3 days, lol), I recieved a notification (shown below) warning me about my data use. When I click the notification, it brings me to the data usage menu. I have unlimited data, so I'm not concerned, but I can't get this notification to go away.

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    I had this happen too you just have to move drag the bar up I only moved my to 10gb so I imagine I'll be getting a warning again very soon
     
  3. drdoom

    drdoom Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    959
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    959
    183
    93
    College Student
    North Carolina
    You can move the warning limit. I have mine set somewhere around 50GB; I doubt I'll hit it.
     
  4. syntrix

    syntrix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,418
    303
    163
    engineer
    The South
    Did you swipe it to the right?

    Also, assuming that you are over your alert limit.... you might have to turn it off or set it higher.

    Interesting find. I'm on unlimited also.
     
  5. Fakethriller

    Fakethriller Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    17
    0
    35
    Ok, fixed it. I didnt realize I could make adjustments to that graph. I set it to 59GB, a new goal! Lol...

    And it wouldnt let me swipe the notification away.
     
  6. Sketchr

    Sketchr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    411
    141
    68
    Male
    Yeah, when I hit my 2GB mark I couldn't figure out how to get rid of it fast enough, lol. Dragged it up to 50ish. Not sure if there's a way to totally disable the "warning". Not that I would go over 50 but still:D
     
  7. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,056
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,056
    12,934
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I don't know, maybe it's the "new toy" syndrome but I've clocked 5 GB in the last 4 days! :eek:

    Part of that was troubleshooting, but a lot of it is 4G streaming. Glad I have unlimited! :)
     
  8. Dubbin1

    Dubbin1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    1,525
    969
    233
    N/W Ohio
    LOL Verizon is going to love you :D
     
  9. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    Well I have unlimited data, lol...So why do I have a data usage warning icon in my notification drop down?

    Anyone know how to get rid of it?
     
  10. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    Lol...fixed...just raised the orange bar up to max and it went away...That was easy.
     
  11. Jon Nale

    Jon Nale Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    294
    241
    68
    I had the same exact problem this morning. I just hit 2GB, and could not clear it, so I moved the bar to 3GB.
     
  12. Gabby

    Gabby Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    Puyallup
    I just got the warning also. Couldnt figure out how to get that triangle in the upper left part of the screen to go away. Moving the graph up to 50 gb worked. :)

    Thank you search button.
     
  13. zebug

    zebug Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    339
    154
    68
    Petroleum Engineer
    Houston, Texas
    lol got mine this moring too.....so I'm guessing all 3 of us were release day buyers and already used 2 GB of data. On my Eris I was averaging about 0.7 GB/month lol and here I go 2GB in one week
     
  14. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    Yea I'm a data hog...hahahaha!
     
  15. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    It's that extra G, lol... When I went from the OG Droid to the TB I had the same data usage jump. Not sure why this is but it seems like LTE uses a significantly larger amount of data then 3G does. I hit my 2 gigs last night as well lol.
     
  16. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Just as a side note, you can also change your bill cycle date in the data usage settings in the settings menu. May help some, may be worse for others lol. I noticed mine was default to reset the 1st of every month, so I went in and changed it just for kicks. And I love that you can disable data at certain levels. I soooo wish I had a friend with a Nexus that I could prank with that!
     
  17. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    I wish the VZW Data widget was available for the Nexus I liked that one . I'm unlimted but it was cool to be able to see how much I actually used . I think it was far more accurate then the ICS one. I've had my phone for 6days and it says I've used 15gb of data . I usually used between 8-12gb a month on my Rezound and Thunderbolt . So I find it hard to believe that I'll use over 60gb with this phone my usage hasn't really changed
     
  18. Crude

    Crude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    1,152
    129
    143
    Nexusville
    Everyone that goes over 4 GB this month check in next month to let us know of you're being throttled please.
     
  19. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    I've averaged about 10gb a month since launch of the thunderbolt (8months) and have never been throttled
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...