1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Data Usage

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by useroid, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. useroid

    useroid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #669
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    48
    3
    16
    Hi there.

    I used to have a Samsung Tocco Lite on Virgin and my average usage would be approx 120mb per month if I was lucky.

    Since joining O2 and buying an Ace, I have used 800mb in 14 days! All I do is access Facebook, Hotmail, BBC etc. No streaming of YouTube vids, no downloading of MP3's etc. May download the odd Android app. I know that using smartphones the content is richer etc, but still.

    I always 'kill' the INTERNET task when finished and it appears that no data is used when not on the internet; which suggests there are no background apps running. It's only when I am using the internet the usage runs down quite quickly. I could use 50mb in an evening (approx 90 mins).

    Is this normal? Is there an app that monitors where this data is being used?

    Thanks for listening.
     

    Advertisement

  2. useroid

    useroid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #669
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    48
    3
    16
    Found an app called TrafficInfo.

    Surfed the internet for 5 minutes i.e. facebook, bbc, footie site, androidforums. Usage reads:

    INTERNET: 4.2mb
    NETWORK LOCATION: 2.3mb (???)
    MARKET: 814kb
    DIALLER: 752kb
    MEDIA STORAGE:
    OTHER BITS & BOBS: 30kb
    Total = 8mb

    Crikey!
     
  3. useroid

    useroid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #669
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    48
    3
    16
    I've installed 3G WATCHDOG and in 7 minutes I have sent 0.5mb of data and rcvd 8.5mb.

    Is this normal usage? I've unchecked BACKGROUND DATA deleted email account and some apps but cant identify the rcvd usage.
     
  4. GrahamF

    GrahamF Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    260
    64
    53
    London

    Hi useroid, do you have your packet data connection on all the time 2G/3G? I found the same thing when I first got my Ace. Loads of apps download data all the time in the background, ie/ weather apps, googlemail, facebook, even if you untick the boxes! I only turn on my data connection when I need to browse or send/receive e-mails etc... Not sure if this applies to your case, but I hope it helps. It also reduces battery drain. GrahamF. London. :thinking:
     
  5. Gammer

    Gammer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    May 23, 2011

    May 23, 2011
    285
    47
    43
    UK
    My 3G packet data is on 24/7 with Virgin and I have yet to use over 400mb a month and that includes streaming videos,downloading app updates,constant connection to ebuddy/live profile and google talk aswell as frequent internet usage.

    I think your o2 data is way way above normal usage and I would certainly query it with them.
     
  6. useroid

    useroid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #669
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    48
    3
    16
    Graham F: Many thanks for the tip. May just do that, but what a pain having to do that all off the time.

    Gammer: Thanks again. I have queried it with them. I have had replies of:-
    a) buy another 500mb
    b) restore factory settings
    c) when asked to be put through to tech guys "they only deal with iPhones!"

    To make matters worse, this morning I kicked-off an app called DREAM TEAM and forgot (yes, forgot) to kill it. Got to work an hour later and it had used 78mb of data!!!

    Thanks again. :)
     
  7. GrahamF

    GrahamF Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    260
    64
    53
    London

    Hi again useroid, have you tried talking to an in-store "Guru", or go onto 02.co.uk & chat to a Guru there? I've used them for a few things and have found them really helpful. You may have an app that harvests a lot of info or one that refreshes too often. Do you have news apps or weather apps etc coz they are the worst. Or an e-mail app that checks too often? I doubt it is 02 or the handset, I bet it is an app doing it. Give the Guru's a try, they are a good place to start. Hope this helps. GrahamF. London (on 02) :thinking:
     
  8. useroid

    useroid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #669
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    48
    3
    16
    Hi Graham F. I will go and see a guru soon, good idea. I did a factory reset and I uncheck PACKET DATA when not in use. Also, I have unchecked BACKGROUND DATA and BACK UP MY DATA options. Seems to be using a fraction less data.

    Was going to ask if you knew of an app so that I can create these shortcuts on my home page?

    Finally, what are CLOUD TO DEVICE MESSAGE and GOOGLE MESSAGING running services? I always stop these but they start up again.

    Thanks again.
     
  9. spikyshotgun

    spikyshotgun Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    22
    4
    16
    If you can't find the source of your data usage, download APN on-off Widget and place it on your desktop. It makes it very easy to turn on/off your data connection. I use it all the time
     
  10. useroid

    useroid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #669
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    48
    3
    16
    Thanks spikyshotgun. It's a very handy widget.

    I spoke to O2 and they are going to do a "network investigation" on my usage. Could be an issue with the handset. They have advised to download App Task Killer. Also downloaded ATK for Froyo.

    Btw, I will create a separate post for this, but I have read that using a different browser may reduce data usage. I use the one that came packaged with the phone, but i have read that opera mini is quite good, as is Dolphin.

    Thanks again.
     
  11. PJ147

    PJ147 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    457
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    457
    143
    68
    Male
    Sales
    Hampshire, UK
    Using a task killer is not always a good idea. Elsewhere on this forum is a massive guide explaining about it. Android caches services so it is quicker to load them when called by another service or they are loaded up. If a program is being used it has been called upon. If it is cached it is taking no battery or data usage but waiting command. If you were to kill this process then it will use more cpu, memory & data as it tries to load from scratch. Shame on O2 suggesting this. Old versions of Android 1.5. - 2.1 maybe but not 2.2 or 2.3 .
     

Share This Page

Loading...