1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Daylight Savings

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TrustSerenity, Mar 11, 2012.

  1. TrustSerenity

    TrustSerenity Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    130
    16
    58
    Female
    Single Mom
    Manalapan NJ
    Why hasn't my time changed yet. I've restarted the phone a few times and it's still showing the wrong time. This is frustrating me since every clock in my house is showing the right time except my phone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. macp

    macp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    41
    15
    18
    Yup, i even tried calling, texting, and powering down. No luck yet.
     
  3. GTOgirl

    GTOgirl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    75
    25
    23
    Central FL
    I'm having the same problem...

    (btw, we're practically neighbors!)
     
  4. panzerghost

    panzerghost Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    18
    2
    16
    I am having the same thing also and I am also close to the op and above location. it might just be our location. I am in Pasco.
     
  5. TrustSerenity

    TrustSerenity Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    130
    16
    58
    Female
    Single Mom
    Manalapan NJ
    Aww I have neighbors on this site. That's awesome. I'm being serious. I've only been in Pasco for 7 months and I know one person. lol That's actually sad when you think about it. Maybe it is a Pasco/Central Florida thing.
     
  6. GTOgirl

    GTOgirl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    75
    25
    23
    Central FL
    Who knows....maybe it's a Metro thing. I just think it's funny that we have a phone that can do almost everything a laptop can, but we can't figure out how to make it show the correct time.
     
  7. TrustSerenity

    TrustSerenity Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    130
    16
    58
    Female
    Single Mom
    Manalapan NJ
    lmao this is true
     
  8. panzerghost

    panzerghost Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    18
    2
    16
    Is everyone experiencing this issue on Gingersteem extreme. I am. If I recall I think the stock ROM had an option for DST (I might be thinking of my old phone). If so it might be the ROM.
     
  9. mike28

    mike28 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    4,065
    1,058
    513
    Male
    Tampa
    Same here still shows the incorrect time
     
  10. GTOgirl

    GTOgirl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    75
    25
    23
    Central FL
    I downloaded an app called ClockSync which allowed me to use the phone's GPS to update the time.

    Clock Sync
     
    TrustSerenity and mike28 like this.
  11. gnuorder

    gnuorder Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I'm in Tampa with the same problem. Not only did it not change automatically, there doesn't seem to be any way to override that and set it manually on the esteem.
     
  12. GTOgirl

    GTOgirl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    75
    25
    23
    Central FL
    The app I mentioned will do just that, but your phone has to be rooted for it to work.
     
  13. TrustSerenity

    TrustSerenity Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    130
    16
    58
    Female
    Single Mom
    Manalapan NJ
    I'm not rooted.
     
  14. mike28

    mike28 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    4,065
    1,058
    513
    Male
    Tampa
    trying the app but does not seem to change it
     
  15. GTOgirl

    GTOgirl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    75
    25
    23
    Central FL
    Make sure your phone's GPS is turned on, then open the Clock Sync app and go to Settings>Detect Time Zone. Check the box that says "use geo location to set time zone" and it should update within a few seconds.
     
  16. GTOgirl

    GTOgirl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    75
    25
    23
    Central FL
    It does have a "rootless" mode where you can sync it manually, but I don't know how well it would work. Turn the GPS on, then open the app and hit Settings>Rootless Mode. Hit the "back" button, then the button on the far left, and then hit "synchronize". Hope it works :)
     
    TrustSerenity likes this.
  17. jindy77

    jindy77 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011

    Oct 27, 2011
    50
    5
    16
    mine was like that this morning, stuck in the past, lol.
    but after a reboot, it is now showing the correct time (tho i don't think the reboot was what "fixed" it), as others i know, w/metro mobiles of all types, after 10 am or so, all now show the correct time, so i guess a problem on metro's end?
    anyway, hope the correct time now shows?!
     
  18. JayBondzeWell

    JayBondzeWell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    387
    77
    53
    just restart phone and it should fix issue. mine changed by itself on one phone. the other i turned off for 1 minute and turned on. bye issue =]
     
  19. esteemer

    esteemer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    44
    1
    16
    Surgical Tech
    SoCal
    I'm on Zvd stock, not rooted. And my time was updated w/out restarting the phone
     
  20. johnbugman

    johnbugman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    i have rooted esteem, my girlfriend has stock esteem. neither have been updated also after reboot. its now 1210 pm in saintpetersburg, fl.
     
  21. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2,617
    376
    173
    Male
    Michigan
    maybe you guys didn't select that option when you first set up the phone, it asks you on the time set up screen if you want to use dst
     
  22. LeeoJohnson

    LeeoJohnson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    162
    14
    38
    Behavorial Health Technician
    Tampa FL
    Testing testing....

    Edit: yeah mine did it on its own. But I still installed clock sync, cool app. Tampa FL.
     
  23. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
     #146
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,203
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,203
    312
    173
    NYC
    Me2, but rooted, stock rom, plague 2.2 kernel.
     
  24. kagekiid

    kagekiid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    85
    3
    16
    Maybe it's that batch of phones that all you neighbors have. I'm in.. Dallas and I didn't even know there was a time change until I looked at my watch.
     
  25. TrustSerenity

    TrustSerenity Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    130
    16
    58
    Female
    Single Mom
    Manalapan NJ
    My phone still hasn't changed. I did ydt another reboot, a battery pull, and I even called metro. It's no surprise that Metro was no help. I was told that the phone has all day to change and if it didn't then I'd have to go to a metro store. The clocksync app works though.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...