1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

dc2.08 compared to fresh 2.1.1.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by brandonpaz, May 18, 2010.

  1. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    73
    4
    16
    Tampa
    I am currently running DC 2.08 and I am pretty happy, it runs well, and I am able to do everything I want except for tethering :(

    Has anybody compared Fresh to DC? What are the main differences with the most recent versions?

    I like how fast DC feels, and smooth the keyboard is, I would love it if I could just get tethering to work.

    So long story short I am considering trying out Fresh 2.1.1.1 but I really hate reloading the phone fixing my profile, fixing my screens etc, so I would hate to go through all of that and have tethering still not work :(

    Is tethering working well for people in Fresh?

    FYI, I have used both barnacle and wifi tether with out luck.

    Thanks much all,

    Brandon
     

    Advertisement

  2. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    wifi tether works great in Fresh
     
  3. vodo

    vodo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    15
    3
    16
    If you're using Wireless Tether 2.0 then you have to take the following steps to get it to work:

    1. Launch Wireless Tether (Don't press start tethering button yet)
    2. Hold power button until the phone options screen launches
    3. Turn Airplane mode On
    4. Hold power button again
    5. Turn Airplane mode Off
    6. Press the start tethering button on the Wireless Tether app.

    If that gets to annoying you could always downgrade to Wireless Tether 1.6.

    I am running DC 2.08 and am using Wireless Tether 2.0 to post this right now :)
     
    brandonpaz likes this.
  4. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    73
    4
    16
    Tampa
    I tried this and I aquire an IP, and I am able to ping the default gateway.

    I can not surf the internet though, it appears to me to be a dns issue, and this was what I have seen in the past. NSlookup does not work, but I can ping around the local subnet.

    From the phone I notice small amounts of data have been transfered fyi

    Brandon
     
  5. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    73
    4
    16
    Tampa

    Oddly enough I continued to play with it.

    This time I started it, and connected first. Once I was able to ping the gateway, I put on airplane mode, then I removed airplane mode.

    It worked I am surfing!!

    Thanks much

    Brandon
     
  6. vodo

    vodo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    15
    3
    16
    Glad to hear it finally worked for ya!
     
  7. revlis240

    revlis240 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    odd, i downloaded an app from the market regarding tethering and it worked flawless the first time...did you try that? on 2.08.1
     
  8. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    73
    4
    16
    Tampa
    I tried it on 2.08 and 2.07, not 2.08.1

    I had a few issues with 2.08.1 so I am sticking with 2.08.
     
  9. mslisaj

    mslisaj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    367
    6
    36
    Mechanic
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    I have DC v2.08.1 and I use PDAnet and it works flawlessly. Of course I have a usb connection but it just plain works and first time too........
    No issues what so ever.........
     
  10. Squiggy

    Squiggy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    360
    18
    38
    Web Developer
    San Diego, CA
    Same here, but I'm using Wireless Tether rather than PDAnet.
     
  11. cajunjacket

    cajunjacket Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    34
    2
    16
    For some reason, when I tried DC, it wouldn't connect to the mobile network. When I was trying to set up my google account at start up, it kept failing because it couldn't find my network. Oh well, Fresh 2.1.1 is good enough for me.
     
  12. itrackit

    itrackit Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    fort myers, FL
    when i loaded DC 2.08.1 i had to reboot again after the initial reload. found the network after that without issue. been using it now for a few weeks and all is good. can't wait for his next rom off the official release.
     
  13. aisseleacim03

    aisseleacim03 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    What is the difference between version 2.0 and 1.6? Asking to see if it is worth to do all this over and over again (at least that is what I understand), when I want to tether.
    I installed 2.0 and didnt work for me (running dc2.08.1). It actually messed up my exchange settings. Installed 1.6 and works flawlessly.

    Thanks
     
  14. dhero

    dhero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    69
    4
    16
    I read somewhere - I think in Flipz blog - that 2.0 has a NAT/DHCP issue.
     
  15. cajunjacket

    cajunjacket Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    34
    2
    16
    Oh, I will try that out then. I am still trying to decide if I would prefer DC or Fresh, but I never gave DC a shot after that mobile network problem.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...