1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Dead Android Icon but No Recovery Menu?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Awakening, Jul 22, 2016.

  1. Awakening

    Awakening Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    (LG Pheonix 2)

    I've been trying to get SuperSU on my new phone for hours yesterday and hours today and it seems that absolutely every method I try has some kind of error somewhere and it's getting extremely frustrating. The only actual root I've been able to accomplish is with Kingroot, but I only wanted to use that to install SuperSU and then uninstall Kingroot with it, but it refused to install so I just uninstalled Kingroot and am back at square one.

    After literally hours I finally managed to get ADB to see my LG Pheonix 2 so that I could boot in to recovery mode. That is seemingly the only way to do it (besides Kingroot) because I've found absolutely nothing anywhere specifying how to do this with the buttons on the phone and no known methods for other phone models have worked on mine. Well, I'm finally into it, but to no surprise there's another problem--the dead Android icon is displayed over a black background without the recovery menu. I have some hope left that if I can access the recovery menu I'll be able to root my device with SuperSU. So, with that said, how can I make the recovery menu come up when I'm on the screen with the dead Android logo?

    Also, my phone doesn't seem to have any fastboot or bootloader page either. All it does is reboot the device like normal

    Any help would be extremely appreciated :crying:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,861
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,861
    16,292
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I don't know LGs, but on HTCs you need to press a button combination (I think it's power+volume up) to make the recovery menu appear.

    You must have a bootloader somewhere or the phone wouldn't be able to load either recovery or android (damaging the bootloader is the simplest way to hard brick an android device). I don't know why you can't access it. What happens if you use "adb reboot-bootloader"?
     
    scary alien likes this.
  3. Avvakening

    Avvakening Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016

    Jul 22, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Just did it again to confirm and all it does is boot up like it normally would if I did it with the power button. I was doing "adb reboot bootloader," but adding a hyphen didn't change anything.

    I also tried rooting with MobileGO and KingoRoot after getting my PC to detect my device with debugging enabled. MobileGO restarted my phone a couple times and then froze my phone with no input response so I had to remove the battery. Not sure what it was doing but no root access was detected after booting back up. KingoRoot just said it failed after the second "waiting for device" and I never noticed anything on my phone. This also resulted in no root access.

    I'm beginning to think this phone does not want to be rooted. This being my first time really makes it a bad experience. I've Jailbroken an iPod and even have some basic programming language skills from modding video games, but none of that seems to be helping me here.
     
    #3 Avvakening, Jul 22, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,298
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,298
    23,695
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Welcome to our AndroidForums, @Avvakening.

    FYI, there are indeed some devices that seemingly (stubbornly) refuse to display a fastboot/bootloader mode/menu...you may have one of those.

    Also, even if you got the stock recovery menu to display, what is your plan then? The stock recovery will not allow you to flash a root .zip package to root your device since it won't have been signed by the manufacturer (i.e., it won't have the proper signing keys). You'd need to install a custom recovery in order to flash .zip files that are not from the manufacturer.

    I'm not an LG guy, so I don't have any LG-specific or Phoenix 2 specific help for you, I'm afraid...but I didn't necessarily want you pursuing that I'm pretty sure it a dead end re. trying to flash something via the stock recovery.
     
    Hadron likes this.
  5. Avvakening

    Avvakening Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016

    Jul 22, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Well, with things the way they are with my device, do you have any recommendations for a root method I could try? KingRoot seemed to unroot on reboot and I don't hear great things about KingRoot to begin with so I'd really rather not have to use that.
     
    #5 Avvakening, Jul 22, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
  6. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,298
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,298
    23,695
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    I'm afraid I don't :(.

    Having anything other than a full-fledged root (i.e., without a custom recovery installed and the ability to take a Nandroid backup, etc.) that would give you the safety of being able to change and recovery things (should something go awry), it playing with fire and asking for a soft-bricked or boot-looped device.

    Also not having tools and the option/ability to re-flash your device to a fully-stock or otherwise known working state is also something that would give me pause.

    I can imagine being able to replace KingRoot's root implementation with Chainfire's "standard" root components, but would never attempt to do so on a device that didn't have an unlocked bootloader and the ability to re-flash back to stock (i.e., your typical Nexus device).
     
  7. Avvakening

    Avvakening Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016

    Jul 22, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Sounds scary. Maybe I'll just wait until I upgrade to the S7 Edge/S8 in six months that hopefully has proper support. I swear literally every method I went though had an error of some kind other than KingRoot and I must have been at this for at least six full hours.

    It's unfortunate because I kind of wanted to get my grips with this whole rooting experience on a cheaper device and have it all worked out by the time I get a good phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...