1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Dead pixels?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by androidtp, Jul 4, 2012.

  1. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    Is anyone else experiencing dead pixels on their new GS3? My black screens show many dead pixels, or big black spots, and it's quite annoying. Am I the only one?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Chicago281

    Chicago281 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012

    Jun 25, 2012
    59
    2
    16
    Screen here is beautiful and almost perfect. USA T-Mobile S3
     
  3. cys920622

    cys920622 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    63
    4
    16
    Canada
    You mean like those black "ink spots" you see when you're in complete darkness with a completely black screen? I have a few of those too but they don't seem to pose any issue when viewing other colors. Also, no dead pixels here on other color tests.
     
  4. PaxtonPetty

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012

    Jun 25, 2012
    76
    7
    16
    Prosecuting Attorney
    Nothing's wrong with your S3. That's AMOLED + Pentile = black ink-like spots.
     
  5. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    I see. So no need to return this phone for another thinking I'll receive one without the spots?
     
  6. weepaulz

    weepaulz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012

    Feb 6, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    My husband's S3 has a blue pixel when the screen is black that flashes.

    Mines is fine.
     
  7. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    And, this is exactly what I'm talking about. It only shows on the black screens. You're completely fine with those blotches? Maybe, I just thought this phone would be near perfect considering the technological advancement we've achieved. Didn't have this with the Epic 4G :D
     
  8. PaxtonPetty

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012

    Jun 25, 2012
    76
    7
    16
    Prosecuting Attorney
    Yep. Both my S3 and Note have those black spots. Not really an issue.
     
  9. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    The fact that you're fine with this makes me wonder why I'm not. Guess I will have to adapt! Thank you for the reassurance.
     
  10. darkestred

    darkestred Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011

    Sep 19, 2011
    353
    77
    53
    IT
    NJ
    It's possible its not on all black. I have a viera plasma and i was watching it the other day. A purple background came on and i saw all these blotches. I was startled because my LCD that it replaced had this issue. When the next white screen came on, it wasn't there. I rewinded and there it was on the purple.
     
  11. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    I downloaded a dead pixels app and it ran all the colors. I only noticed this on the black screen. Last night I was recording the fireworks and noticed those ink blotches all over my screen. It made me ughhhhh, but I guess it just takes some getting use to.
     
  12. PaxtonPetty

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012

    Jun 25, 2012
    76
    7
    16
    Prosecuting Attorney
    I have 3 friends and 2 office mates all have S3s and believe me, I unabashedly showed my OCD and checked their phones under dark room and YES all their phones have the dark spots.
     
  13. jamisont

    jamisont Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    204
    55
    53
    [​IMG]

    like this one?
    its not dead pixel, its dark spot on amoled.
    they spray substances on TFT and they cant spray evenly perfectly, some get thicker and that causes that.
     
  14. mikegrp

    mikegrp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012

    Jul 21, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Help.... I dropped my new GS3 today from about 3.5 feet onto a retail store floor. The phone hit the back and landed flat. The phone has a Body Glove anti shock case on it. When I picked it up I said under my breath " thank goodness for cases".... then I turned it on....Grrrr. It has a thin 1 pixel wide green line from top to bottom in the middle of the screen. I ran a pixel repair app with no luck..... any suggestions on what it could be?

    Thanks,

    MikeGRP
     
  15. Shawn0413

    Shawn0413 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    83
    10
    18
    Wow..that's pretty bad I would definently exchange for a new one
     
  16. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #162
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,752
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,752
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    Sounds like the conductive circuit for that column of pixels has gone bad somehow. You'll have to replace the display, or the phone. Dell notebooks are known to get this problem as well. I had to replace the display on mine. I don't know of any way to fix such a problem. It has to do with either a shorted or open connection (in your case, from being dropped) for that column of pixels.
     

Share This Page

Loading...