1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Dead Transformer?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by turbohobbit, Aug 4, 2011.

  1. turbohobbit

    turbohobbit Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    665
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    665
    19
    63
    England
    I bought but ASUS Transformer back a few months ago and it's be working just fine, no issues whatsoever. I even downloaded 3.2 on Tuesday evening and that went fine. I used it yesterday without any problems too. Smooth and silky.

    But I came to turn it on this morning to use it to read an e-book on my mornign commute and nothing. Not a flicker. I held the power button down for 2 seconds, 5 seconds, 10 seconds, but not a thing. I figured the battery had somehow dies so I left it be. I tried it again on the way home tonight "just in case" but still nothing. I've just plugged it into the charger but it didn't power up automatically as it usually does. It also won't power up manually, even plugged in.

    Is it dead and / or has anyone else experienced this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mooreman

    mooreman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    Try holding the power button for as long as 30 seconds. Mine did this today and I was starting to wonder too, but holding the power button down until it resets should work, tho I don't know why it would be doing this in the first place.
     
  3. oz90630

    oz90630 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    30
    0
    15
    Same here, working perfectly under 3.2; put it down, then the screen went off and could never power it back on.

    I called the Asus service center, and they advised I send the unit back, I have.

    The unit wouldn't power up with or without the charger hooked up. However if connected to a PC, the PC would recognize it and I could access all files in it. So, apparently it was just the display.
    -Oz
     
  4. chrisfsullivan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    30
    2
    16
    OK so day 4 with the transformer. Battery charged for my trip. I take it out at the airport, back screen....nothing. I tried hard reset many times. Through the use of a USB storage stick I can see activity each time it hard resets, but nothing on the screen. Any ideas guys??
     
  5. chrisfsullivan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    30
    2
    16
    One other interesting observations is that one of the last apps I was messing with was the google books and then nook (did not log in). But this is not the first time I used those applications. Got the transformer on the 5th and charged overnight. Immediately upgraded ota to 3.2. No issues until now. It is fully charged. I am wondering if I put an updated firmware on the USB it might take it after a hard reset. Has anyone done a firmware update? How is that done? I saw a link to a firmware update in another thread on screen "deep sleep". Is this new to 3.2 or an issue with all transformers? HELP!!!
     
  6. Chaco

    Chaco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010

    Jul 12, 2010
    141
    33
    43
    Business Analyst
    OH
    this happened to me once but it was because the battery died.

    So i plugged in the TF only and waited 25 mins... after that it turned on, but i was experiencing the exact things you described.

    just saying...
     
  7. chrisfsullivan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    30
    2
    16
    well the light on the dock was green meaning fully charged. I have just unhooked the keyboard and plugged in the transformer directly in case there is some power connection problem between the two. I will let it charge for a bit. I am really shocked they did notput an indicator light on the tablet itself
     
  8. chrisfsullivan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    30
    2
    16
    Tried to charge jut the pad, no change. The support documentation says that when the keyboard is docked, the charging priority is pad first then keyboard dock.

    So I contacted customer service, no replacement offered, I have to pay to ship the computer to them for the repair! I was shocked. This is not the type of service I would get from HP or Dell. A very disappointing experience that has made me not want to recommend the Asus Transformer to people. I have gone from a fanboy to hater in less than a day.
     
  9. xodustrance

    xodustrance Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    67
    0
    15
    Some devices just go bad... Any consumer electronics - iPad, PS3, iPhone, TV's, etc - some just go bad. There is a failure rate on any CE devices. It sucks when it happens to you, but we have all had a bum device at one point or another.

    Asus is a reliable company that makes good products. I have an Asus i7 notebook, built just as solid and problem free as the tablet. It really is your loss if you cant see past this. Asus products are really good tho.
     
  10. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    I just replied to your post about this in another thread...did you buy this at a BB, Ofc Depot, Staples, etc? If so you should definitely have a 14 day return/exchange-no questions asked
     
  11. Sandroidfan

    Sandroidfan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    2,150
    483
    163
    Male
    Engineer
    Central TX
    I was almost set to get Transformer. But this thread caught my eye. I saw some complains on bleeding light on edge, audio issue, etc. But things like this (not turning on at all) is not acceptable for me. Really how bad is like-hood this would happen if I buy it from BB, Staple, etc?
     
  12. fldude99

    fldude99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    872
    69
    78
    NW FL
    I would stay this chances of getting a bum unit is slim
     
  13. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    409
    50
    53
    If it is dead, just return it!
    Major US stores like that will take a return and exchange for a new one. Out of THOUSANDS and THOUSANDS sold, complaints are fairly minimal. More problems are had from the keyboard battery needing to be returned for repair (because they discharge when the tablet is connected but turned off) than anything else. And those are just the older keyboards. (Look for B50 or B60 or B70 in the serial number. B70 should be totally safe, B60 iffy.)

    To me major complaints are-
    1- audio, even after a few firmware updates, is still noticeably louder on the right speaker than the left. Not a huge deal, I use headphones for movies anyway. I'm sure it's a physical problem, it's amazing what putting a home speaker in a corner does, vs. how you aim them, etc...

    2- charging cable is just WAY SHORT. A $6 amazon USB 3.0 extension cable has fixed that for me, but still.

    3- People who complain of bleeding light around the edges are just picky, in my opinion. You can only see it if the screen is black, even on the worst cases I've seen. Bleeding light inside the screen is a different issue. I think I have two spots, but I can truly only see them when the screen is completly black.

    -----

    I've had my Transformer since around May30. I'm in one of the dustiest environments known to man. (NATO Post in South Afghanistan) I carry mine in a netbook bag on my bike with rifle. I have carried it on planerides through HOT HOT Kuwait to the US and back. My kids bounced around with it on the couch for a couple weeks. I put it in a softsleeve inside the netbook bag inside another backpack to minimize vibration on helicopter trips.

    Knock on wood- it's still going strong. (Although i think there's a little dust INSIDE the 5mp camera. But still, if you've ever sat somewhere wiping the dust off the screen every 5-10 seconds that's to be expected eventually.)
     
    NexusTootsie likes this.
  14. Sandroidfan

    Sandroidfan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    2,150
    483
    163
    Male
    Engineer
    Central TX
    Thanks for feedbacks on transformer hardware quality. I just bought one yesterday at BB. Very nice, solidly built device. I checked bleeding light on black screen and can see slight light leakage on left/right edges, but it's minor and definitely not reason for return. Overall screen quality looks very nice. But I haven't checked audio quality yet. I hope it works well long enough.
     
  15. Chaco

    Chaco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010

    Jul 12, 2010
    141
    33
    43
    Business Analyst
    OH
    to chrissullivan

    have you tried doing a hard reset via the hardware buttons?

    when mine wasnt responding i did it and it worked again and once it booted thats when i noticed the battery was at 1% and thats why it was unresponsive.

    i know you said its charged, but do a hardware reset and see if it does anything at all
    doesnt hurt to try
     
  16. Sandroidfan

    Sandroidfan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    2,150
    483
    163
    Male
    Engineer
    Central TX
    Hope this doesn't happen to me. But what do you mean by hard reset? Pressing power/unlock button long enough?
     
  17. Chaco

    Chaco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010

    Jul 12, 2010
    141
    33
    43
    Business Analyst
    OH
    Hard Reset:
    Unplug the power cord and shut the unit off and Press and Hold the power button and the volume down button together for 6-10 seconds and let them both go.
    After a few seconds you should see a couple of shapes in the middle of the screen. Wait a few more seconds until the term "Cold Boot" appears in the list near the top of the screens and just press and release the "Down" volume button again and let it reboot. If you own the dock be sure and do this with the dock connected.
     
  18. Sandroidfan

    Sandroidfan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    2,150
    483
    163
    Male
    Engineer
    Central TX
    Thanks for clarification.

    I can't believe this happened to me! This morning I plugged charging cable to my TF to recharge it when it was down to about 58%. One hour later, I tried to turn on screen by tapping power/unlock button and it didn't respond at all! I tried tapping it hard multiple times but nothing happened. So I long pressed power button for 10 seconds and it rebooted. But still it didn't respond to unlock button to turn off/on screen though it turns off screen on 1 min as set in display. Also it only turns on screen when plugging/unplugging charge cable. What a bummer! I was thinking of returning it.

    Then after a few minutes of unplugging it after full recharge, now it seems to respond fine to unlock button! I don't know what happened during the first recharge. Is this normal? Did anyone experience things like this?
     
  19. Sandroidfan

    Sandroidfan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    2,150
    483
    163
    Male
    Engineer
    Central TX
    Seems like this power button/deep sleep is wide spread issue from what I just researched old forums. I should have looked at it before buying Transformer. But it was mostly discussed a few months ago. Now how is Transformer doing overall on this power button/deep sleep issue?
     
  20. chrisfsullivan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    30
    2
    16
    Thanks for the recommendation Chaco. Asus tech support was useless and did not offer anything beyond an RMA. NewEgg actually walked me through several steps. He not only had me do the hard reset "power button and down volume for 5-10 seconds" but we also tried the factory reset (which he talked me through cause you can not see the screen) and that was After the hard reset, volume button down four times and then up one time. I was never able to see what was happening on screen and the item never came back on.

    NewEgg issued me an RMA and covered the shipping. They have a 30 day return policy and they will ship me a new one once they confirm it is defective. I was not able to ship it until today because I was in California and I needed the original packaging to ship it back. I was told to expect my replacement on a week and a half. I am not sure if I will keep it or sell it on Ebay at this point because after 30 days I will have to deal with Asus and I want nothing to do with them at this point.
     
  21. pwndecaf

    pwndecaf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    19
    0
    15
    Engineer CMRP
    Wisconsin
    I got mine at BB about 6 weeks ago and it got the "no boot" while I was traveling. I happened to try the cold boot, but I don't know if I actually did it or just let it slip by. Mine would bring up the Tegra screen for a second, the one that I think was added with 3.2 update, and that was it.

    I just took it to BB on my return from my trip and actually plugged it into their demo power supply to see if it made a difference. If it is drained, it probably wouldn't work anyway, but...

    BB said they would return it and I would get a new one in 7 days. I had seen a few funky screen issues before (I don't mean light leaks, I mean weird stuff) and thought it best to replace it anyway. So I should have a new unit next Friday. It would be nice if the unit had a power light/charging light like my gTab does.
     
  22. brian40

    brian40 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    Retired, way past pension age
    Minnie Water, NSW, Australia
    In Australia purchased by mail order, put it on charge when first received and turned it on a couple of hours later, first thing it did was to update it's self to 3.2, used it for a couple of hours then turned it off. Next day before turning it on tried to insert microSD card, but it would not catch, it kept popping out. So tried to turn it on, would not turn on, pressed on button short time to long time no joy, put it on charge until charge light turned green, still no joy. Phoned Asus, told send back to supplier for a replacement as it was not 14 days old. Phoned supplier made arrangements to post it back. They got in touch with me a day after they received it microSD card slot was ok, needed to use finger nail to push in that mm more, and the unit was ok, just needed charging, they kept it for an extra day to use it to run battery down, then charge it up again to check that it was ok. On receiving it back it has been running all right for the last week.
    I have an idea that the problem may have been the 3.2 update messed some thing up, may be the tech at the store i purchased it from did some sort of reset. As i believe it is version 3.2 causing the problems trying to set up my email, though K-9 works perfectly.
    Brian
     
  23. chrisfsullivan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    30
    2
    16
    I had head that the problem was intermittent as well, so I tried mine multiple times on different days to see if it turned on. I had to wait until I was back from my trip to be able to ship it back in the original packaging anyways. I was never able to get it to power on. Using the device with an external usb on the keyboard allowed me to observe activity as the led on the usb would flicker based on activity. This is what I used to confirm my resets. Never got the screen to work. NewEgg received my RMA on Friday I am still waiting. I bought two HP touchpads with 32GB for $154 each after shipping. I expect those to ship today. I may keep one of those and sell the transformer on ebay. I do not want to be paying to ship my transformer to ASUS all the time for repair.
     
  24. oz90630

    oz90630 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    30
    0
    15
    I got my unit back after RMA return/serviced.

    To my great surprise, the dog-garn thing is DOA.

    Called Asus furious that they didn
     
  25. chrisfsullivan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    30
    2
    16
     

Share This Page

Loading...