• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Dealing with Malware

sfst351

Lurker
Dec 26, 2012
Hi,
I am new to using a smart phone and so perhaps my question would sound very basic. But I still couldn't find a satisfying answer elsewhere which is why I am posting it here. Thanks for the reply in advance.

So I downloaded a wallpaper app from google android market for my android phone. After the download, my Lookout virus software installed earlier indicated that the wallpaper app has a malware and gave me an option to uninstall it, which I did. So now is my phone safe with the app removed or do I have to take some other measures. I am asking this because the word 'uninstall' does not mean deleting the files from which installation took place. I would still look forward to actually deleting the files which I had downloaded. Since no such option is provided anywhere in the android system, I am concerned as to whether the application files that were downloaded are still sitting on my SD card or internal storage or does the process of un-installation completely remove the files that were downloaded. And also, is there a way to report the app developer to the google market team? I read in the reviews of other apps by this developer that they too harbor malware. Finally, suppose there was a malware on by android system which went undetected. Does a factory reset as well as erasing the SD card completely clean the system like hard reformatting does on a regular hard drive?

Thanks

My first guess would be that was a false positive from lookout. I would've looked into that first.

What wallpaper app were you using?

There's quite a bit of debate about whether or not malware apps are needed on an android device, and I'm pretty firmly in the camp that says they aren't needed.

A factory reset will completely wipe away anything an app installs on the device.

Upvote 0