1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Debrading my Desire HD

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by vRS, May 4, 2011.

  1. vRS

    vRS Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    I upgraded my contract phone to the Desire HD last November through Vodafone. The phone was already unlocked when i got it but it has some Vodafone branding on it.

    This is what my phone is currently on,

    Android Version
    2.2


    Software Number
    1.39.161.1

    Basically i want to change the firmware to the generic UK version so i can receive the updates quicker and i also want to remove the annoying Vodafone stuff like the logo at boot up and the 360 apps.

    What is the best way to go about doing this? I have had a look at the guides but i'm still confused. Do i need to make a gold card and downgrade? Or can i just install the generic firmware over this one? Do i need to root my phone before i can do this?

    I'm not looking to install custom firmware and didnt really want to root the phone.

    What is the latest version of the generic firmware that i need to install on my phone?

    Another problem that i have noticed on my phone is that when i unlock the screen it seems to keep opening the Car Panel App on its own, which is really annoying.

    Any advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks

    Rich
     

    Advertisement

  2. landovr

    landovr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    723
    75
    78
    Firefighter
    Alberta Canada
    For all the debranding stuff I do not know. But the car panel thing you can go to settings/dock and see if auto launch is turned on.
     
    vRS likes this.
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    12,975
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,975
    9,515
    1,423
    UK
    You need to make a goldcard and flash the unbranded, 2.2, 1.32.x.x firmware. The sticky in this section has a link to a copy.

    Then you will be setup to receive 2.3 via the OTA updates when it becomes avilable in your country.

    And no, you don't need root.
     
    vRS likes this.
  4. cracksquirrel

    cracksquirrel Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    182
    29
    43
    Chester
    You will need to make a Goldcard
    Creating a GoldCard - Android @ MoDaCo

    Download RUU_Ace_HTC_WWE_1.32.405.6_Radio_12.28b.60.140e_26.03.02.26_M_release_155891_signed from here http://androidforums.com/desire-hd-...140e_26-03-02-26_m_release_155891_signed.html the software verion is lower because it's a stock unbranded rom, Once downloaded, plug phone into computer and choose htc sync from the pop up on your phone, you need to have the HTC Sync software and/or the android SDK installed, double click the downloaded file and it should flash the unbranded ROM to your phone.

    edit: and what Xyro said, took me ages to make this post though lol

    edit edit: there is an easier way of making a goldcard than that but I cant seem to find the link
     
    vRS likes this.
  5. vRS

    vRS Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Thanks for the replies.

    I made the gold card and then tried installing RUU_Ace_HTC_WWE_1.32.405.6_Radio_12.28b.60.140e_26.03.02.26_M_release_155891_signed but during the installation i got the following error message.

    ERROR [131]: CUSTOMER ID ERROR

    The ROM Update Utility cannot update your Android phone.
    Please get the correct ROM Update Utility and try again.

    I take it that i'm doing something wrong here.
     
  6. swgastro

    swgastro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    116
    15
    38
    UK
    I believe you made the Goldcard incorrectly.. try doing it again.
     
    vRS likes this.
  7. vRS

    vRS Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Ok thanks, i will try it again.
     
  8. vRS

    vRS Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    I've tried making the gold card about 5 times now using the memory card that came with the phone and it seems that i'm making it right without any errors or problems. However everytime i try to do the downgrade i keep getting the same error.

    Could this be due to the current Vodafone firmware that is already on the phone?
     
  9. vRS

    vRS Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Is it possible for me to upgrade to the generic firmware instead of downgrading? For example to one of these ones,

    • Unbranded WWE - 2.2.1 - 1.72.405.3_R
    • Unbranded WWE - 2.2.1 - 1.72.405.3_R2

    Thanks

    Rich
     
  10. vRS

    vRS Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Just another update. I've been using the Gold Card Tool 0.05 to make the gold card for my phone and have been selecting MMC0 as MMC1 doesnt work.

    I downloaded the Goldcard Helper app from the market and it gives me the exact same Reverse CID for MMC0 as the Gold Card Tool. However the app also gives me the Reverse CID for MMC2. I tried to make a gold card using the MMC2 number and then tried downgrading and this time it gave me a different error.

    ERROR [140]: BOOTLOADER VERSION ERROR

    I'm still having trouble downgrading this stupid thing.
     
  11. cracksquirrel

    cracksquirrel Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    182
    29
    43
    Chester
  12. swgastro

    swgastro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    116
    15
    38
    UK
    Its been a while since I made my Goldcard, but I did it the long way by editing the hex code manually on the SD card and I'm pretty sure it was the MMC2 code. So I'm pretty sure your goldcard is working, and as cracksquirrel said, it looks like you need to downgrade first.
     
  13. hocturnalsoul

    hocturnalsoul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    104
    16
    38
    IT Analyst
    Gloucestershire
    Quick Point: Not all SD Cards can be made into Goldcards. If my memory proves right, the best to use is a Samsung 2GB SD card.

    Edit: sorry, best is a kingston 1 or 2GB, but Samsung works too
     
  14. vRS

    vRS Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    I will try one more time using the MMC2 number.

    Is there any way to tell if the gold card has been created successfully?

    If i use this guide, [GUIDE] How to downgrade 1.7x/1.8x/2.x to 1.32.405.6 - xda-developers will the phone still be rooted after downgrading to the unbranded firmware?

    I dont mind rooting the phone to get it to install the unbranded firmware but if it remains rooted then i would rather do it they way i have already been trying.
     
  15. cracksquirrel

    cracksquirrel Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    182
    29
    43
    Chester
    ERROR [140]: BOOTLOADER VERSION ERROR is cos you need to downgrade first, you will need to root again
     
  16. hocturnalsoul

    hocturnalsoul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    104
    16
    38
    IT Analyst
    Gloucestershire
    yea, i suggest you follow the instructions from the xda developers link. That way, if nything goes wrong you can refer back to the comments on the page.
     
    vRS likes this.
  17. poopookakada

    poopookakada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    323
    45
    63
    Local Radio Presenter
    Swindon, UK
    No it doesn't remain rooted, this is the way I downgraded my DHD and I had to root again to overclock my cpu
     
    vRS likes this.
  18. vRS

    vRS Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Just used that guide and it worked perfectly.

    I've successfully managed to downgrade the firmware and get rid of all the Vodafone rubbish. :)

    Now i'm running on,

    Android Version
    2.2

    Software Number
    1.32.405.6

    I tried checking for an OTA update but there's nothing available so far.
     
  19. Sombre

    Sombre Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011

    Apr 10, 2011
    120
    21
    58
    I.T. Professional
    Canberra, Australia
  20. cracksquirrel

    cracksquirrel Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    182
    29
    43
    Chester

    If you did the S-OFF at the end of the guide aswell then doing that also gave you supercid which does the same as a goldcard
     
    Sombre likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...