1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Decent Terminal Emulator

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SiHa, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
    Like the title says, I'm after a good a Terminal Emulator. I currently use ' Android Terminal Emulator' by Jack Palevich, but it's not without issues.
    The two features I missed most from the Linux command line are: Cursor Up/Down to scroll through previously used commands and Tab to auto-complete paths/filenames etc.
    Currently, cursor up/down just gives the usual [[A etc, and there is no Tab.

    Any suggestions?

    Free is preferable, as I wouldn't use it enough to justify paying, unless it's really cheap. I've noticed that a lot of the apps aimed at the rooting fraternity seem to be paid ones...

    TIA,
    Simon
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,075
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,075
    15,328
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Press the menu key and look at "special keys". No tab, unfortunately, but cursor up/down are there.
     
    SiHa likes this.
  3. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
    Thanks, I can do that with the trackpad as well, but I still get the escape sequences; [[A, [[D etc. in the terminal.

    Do I take this to mean the problem actually lies with the Android kernel and the way it interprets these keypresses? I mean - every Linux kernel, sorry, every other Linux kernel I've used supports this functionality.

    Christ even DOS 5.0 did it!

    Even Windows does it!!!
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I use terminal emulator. What I would really like is the ability to save specific commands that I use regularly, like bookmarks in a browser. I have to navigate to a text file and copy / paste.

    Text files, now thats another thing that annoys me. I would like the ability to jump to the bottom of a long log, rather than have to scroll there.

    Grrr and Grrrr
     
  5. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
    Yeah, I'll see your Grrr's and raise you a Harumph!
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
  7. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
    Gotcha. I was bluffing, the best I had was an "Oh FFS!"
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I had 2 "Meh" and the "jack of ambivalence". I could have won then :(
     
  9. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    See, that's why i love these forums, it's always a laugh with you guys....and we even help people out occasionally! :D:D:D
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,075
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,075
    15,328
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You can print the bottom few lines of a file using the tail command, e.g.

    tail -n 10 log.txt

    would print the last 10 lines of the file.

    I find that trackpad then 8 works fine for recalling previous commands. But I seriously miss tab completion, especially when working with a phone keypad. That's why I use adb shell if I want to seriously poke around.
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,075
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,075
    15,328
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Just had a play with smart keyboard pro settings & found how to get arrow and tab keys. Unfortunately while arrows work as expected, tab doesn't complete filenames :(
     
  12. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
    Well, it bloody doesn't work for me. Tried using Swype and the stock HTC keyboard, just get bloody escape codes school the time.
    Tried another emulator, but that just FC'ed every time.

    Gaaah!

    Even more pissed off now to know it should work.

    @Dan, you were talking about wanting to 'bookmark' certain commands. In the Swype or SlideIt thread it was mentioned that with SlideIt you can save phrases with short (2-3) char codes. Would this work for what you want?
     
    SUroot likes this.
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Thanks SiHa, yes probably would work but I cant bear to part with my htc mod keyboard :( stuck in my ways.

    Like they say, hard to teach an old dog, new keyboards.
     
  14. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I know, I know. I've tried other keyboards but just didn't like them. I still miss my blackberry physical keyboard, truth be told.
     
  16. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
    Don't think I could get on with a Blackberry with my fingers, but I know what you mean about keyboards. I've grown quite attached to Swype. I'll cry if they ever close the Beta and it stops working...
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Some blackberries arent great but the bold 9000 was ergonomically designed with odd raised parts of the keyboard. Even me, with sausage fingers could use it.
     
  18. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,075
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,075
    15,328
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    OK, I know how to get tab completion - found it in a CM forum, though it should have been obvious!

    In android terminal emulator -> preferences -> command line, change it from "/system/bin/sh -" to "/system/bin/bash -".

    This changes your default shell to bash, which supports tab completion. Works for me using the standard android terminal (numeric, alt gives you a tab key).

    You can test temporarily by just typing "bash" to start a bash shell and see if it works for you.
     
  19. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
    Nope, not got bash. Guess it comes with a different kernel that comes with the custom ROMs you guys use.

    Never mind, it's not that important.
     
  20. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    396
    30
    63
    Male
    Network Analyst
    South Yorkshire, UK
    I use Connect Bot. Never had any issues :cool:
     
  21. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.

    I use it too as an SSH client, never occurred to me to use it as a terminal emulator on the phone itself. Didn't know you could to be honest. Will try later.
     
  22. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    396
    30
    63
    Male
    Network Analyst
    South Yorkshire, UK
    There's a drop down box at the bottom left. Just click 'local'. :cool:
     
    SiHa likes this.
  23. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
    Nice, thanks! Funny, I never even thought of looking to see what other options were there other than ssh...
    That's another app I can get rid of.

    Thing is though, on an ssh connection to my NAS I can use the trackpad for cursor up, and I get the last command, but when using a local connection, I still get the bloody escape codes!

    I've come to the conclusion that it's my phone, T-Mobile, 2.2, branded as T-M intended:
    [​IMG]

    Maybe a factory reset is the only way to restore proper functioning of the uo-arrow in the terminal.
    Don't really care that much though - maybe later.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...