1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root decided to root my Desire but a bit lost now

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kibbster, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. Kibbster

    Kibbster Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    772
    55
    98
    Male
    Bristol, UK
    Ok I rooted :)
    Well I now have a superuser app (although it just opens up an empty black screen.)
    Just backing up the phone now with Nandroid (although the having to use the optical button rather than power threw me for a while :p)

    Should I see any apps in the super user window or has my root gone wrong in some way?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kibbster

    Kibbster Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    772
    55
    98
    Male
    Bristol, UK
    The other thing I've noticed is I have dropped down to 16mb free (from 21 before the rooting)
    Is that normal?
    So far all rooting seems to have done for me is swallow up a large chunk of memory :(

    Another thing I have noticed is there doesn't seem to be an RUU for an unbranded Desire (I'm on T-mobile but it came from a 3rd party supplier unbranded.)
    So if it all goes wrong at some point do I need to make a Goldcard or is there an unbranded Desire RUU I can download and recover the phone with?
     
  3. stoge

    stoge Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    alls ok if you have superuser icon.

    now get a 4gb sdcard partition it with fat32 + ext 3/4.

    find a nice rom with a2sd, flash it .... memory prob resolved.
     
    Kibbster likes this.
  4. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,653
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,653
    304
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Make your new card a class 6 or above.

    Tip: Be polite
    Never eat yellow snow
    You don't need a task killer
    If your using clockwork MR make sure you have recovery 2.5.0.7 or below (or you'll upset our resident Rasta)
    The best things in life are free, iPhones are very expensive!
     
  5. Kibbster

    Kibbster Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    772
    55
    98
    Male
    Bristol, UK
    Thanks guys but it's all getting a bit complex for me, just managed to root today let alone install custom roms and partition SD cards etc hehe

    The deeper I get into the whole flashing etc the more nervous it makes me so for the moment I am happy with having a backup (I guess that's what Nandroid did.)
    Not sure about doing anything permanent to the phone yet.
     
  6. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    You don't need a gold card if your Desire is unbranded.
    There should be enough RUUs for your phone. If it is unbranded, then you should not look for one with "T-mobile" on it.

    Before using any custom ROM, do a nandroid backup from custom recovery (CWM).
    Then copy the content of your SD card to PC and save it there.
    Then partition your SD card as suggested above (make ext partition something between 512MB to 1GB).
     
  7. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    It is with custom ROMs that you can solve the low internal storage issue.
    If you are afraid to try custom ROMs, then you are limited to Froyo-Style moving the apps to SD card. However, since you are rooted, you can try the application Move2SD Enabler to move more apps to SD card. It is not ideal, but can still help.
    See here: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.leinardi.setinstalllocation&feature=search_result
     
    Kibbster likes this.
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You can set your rooted stock rom up to support init.d and therefore a2sd+ (as detailed) in the apps2sd+ FAQ (via the link in my sig) however, this is a huge mission and much harder than flashing a custom rom
     
    Kibbster likes this.
  9. Kibbster

    Kibbster Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    772
    55
    98
    Male
    Bristol, UK
    Thank you for that link!
    It did help a bit, it cleared up another few MB so I have 19mb free now with no detrimental effect on the phone :)
     
  10. Kibbster

    Kibbster Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    772
    55
    98
    Male
    Bristol, UK
    Looked through the guides, you're not wrong that it looks a ball ache to get everything on the SD without a ROM hehe
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...