1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Default keyboard won't go away

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by HappyJoe, May 18, 2011.

  1. HappyJoe

    HappyJoe Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    59
    4
    16
    Male
    Done that
    Bristol, UK
    Have been using Graffiti on my Hero-of-eBay and suddenly it is unobtainable, being replaced by the default keyboard. Tried to activate installed Swype and it wouldn't stick either. Uninstalled Graffiti and reinstalled it but it still doesn't show. Cold rebooted in between as well...

    Is this common? It's certainly irritating!
     

    Advertisement

  2. RyanB

    RyanB Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Have you installed any other keyboards? Has the phone been rooted, maybe by the previous owner?
     
  3. HappyJoe

    HappyJoe Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    59
    4
    16
    Male
    Done that
    Bristol, UK
    RyanB, yes the phone is rooted, by me. I have installed many keyboards and removed them all bar Graffiti (ex Palm-person) and Swype. Neither is now available.

    This may be muddying the waters, but this may be related to my Launcher problem
     
  4. HappyJoe

    HappyJoe Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    59
    4
    16
    Male
    Done that
    Bristol, UK
    By chance, I came across the answer: long press on the input area and select 'Input method' from the resulting menu, then select (in my case) Graffiti. Now the keyboards swap as they should.

    Hope that helps anyone who faces this quirk in the future.
     
  5. reggjoo

    reggjoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011

    Jan 25, 2011
    229
    19
    38
    Male
    Pgh
    Strange that you did that, and it stayed that way. I do that all the time, the setting will stay that way( I use iphone emulator), for a while, til I reboot. I've used clockwork to fix permissions( running cyanogenmod 6) , and it will always revert back. I would love to make iphone keyboard a system app, and make the android keyboard a user app, but I am scared of the ramifications. Has anyone tried this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...