1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Default launcher problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Paterick, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. Paterick

    Paterick Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Programmer
    Texas
    Quite often when I press the home button, I get a popup asking me to choose which launcher, either launcher or twlauncher. I keep setting twlauncher to be the default, but shortly after that I get the same prompt when pressing the home button. I have turned off and pulled the batter a couple of times and this seems to clear the problem but then a little while later it comes back.

    Anyone else running into this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,756
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2,756
    554
    313
    Male
    Jr. I.T. Support Tech @ Amazon
    Plainfield, Indiana
    I haven't had this issue yet, but I have cleared the defaults and chose just launcher and it is the same thing. I set my defaults to that and haven't had an issue.
     
  3. pb_2000

    pb_2000 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011

    Sep 16, 2011
    17
    3
    16
    What is this "laucher"? Every 'laucher' has a specific (app) name and it seems yours doen't have a proper name.
    So I think, there is soemting wrong there.

    Normally, when you set some app as "the default", it gets a flag and the choosing page doesn't popup anymore.
    To restore it, you have to clear the flag:
    Settings -> Manage Applications -> All -> browse to that app and there is a button "clear defaults".
     
  4. Paterick

    Paterick Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Programmer
    Texas
    Launcher is the launcher that Sprint ID uses? Its the one that looks like the stock gingerbread launcher with just buttons in the dock for phone, app drawer, and sprint id.

    I have tried clearing/setting default multiple times and it keeps happening. One thing I have noticed is that when it happens, pressing and holding the home button shows twlauncher in the list of running apps. As soon as it shows up there then I know that the next time I press the home button to exit an app will cause the popup to occur again.
     
  5. aquaholik

    aquaholik Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Did you fix it or did you have to reset the phone? I had to reset the phone because it was so annoying. I had the same problem as you did and tried just about everything.
     
  6. Samsmalls

    Samsmalls Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011

    Oct 1, 2011
    66
    7
    16
    It only happens to me when I install or uninstall apps pertaining to home, such as after market launcher, after market lock screen. Otherwise its locked on what I set as default however certain apps will remove default settings prompting you to select default again...
     
  7. aquaholik

    aquaholik Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Every time I long press the home button to bring up list of recent apps and task manager, I will see twlauncher in there and the default launcher setting gets broken prompting me to choose a launcher for the home button again. I would click set as default, the launcher I want, and it will stick as long as I don't long press the home button again. Annoying but I decide to just deal with it and not long press the home button anymore.
     

Share This Page

Loading...