1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Defy on Three UK?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lol mahmood, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. Lol mahmood

    Lol mahmood Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    Does anyone know whether the Defy will work ok on Three UK? I'm thinking of selling my Galaxy S and buying one sim free.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ZootHornRollo

    ZootHornRollo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    if you buy it simfree then there is no reason why it shouldn't
     
  3. Lol mahmood

    Lol mahmood Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    That's what I was I was hoping.
     
  4. MIKEEEEE

    MIKEEEEE Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009

    Jul 28, 2009
    15
    1
    36
    part time truck driver
    tennessee
    pull thee battery out and compare operating frequencies for both voice and data to your carrier's.

    if they are the same cool, if they aint, you're not goin' to be able to use stuff.

    5 years ago i had an unlocked euro nokia with no 850 gsm i was using here in the usa, it sucked.
     
  5. ZootHornRollo

    ZootHornRollo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    All UK operators use GSM. Gladly, we don't have all the issues the US has with the networks all using different frequencies.
     
  6. MIKEEEEE

    MIKEEEEE Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009

    Jul 28, 2009
    15
    1
    36
    part time truck driver
    tennessee
    @zoot.

    not talking about talking, i'm talking about data.

    different carriers use different data modes.

    like edge, wcdma, and that all that kind of stuff.
     
  7. ZootHornRollo

    ZootHornRollo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    again, all UK operators use the same standards. A UK phone will work on all UK networks. It basically comes down to the local coverage and the handset. a UK handset capable of 3G will be able to utilise 3G on any UK network that it is available - likewise 3.5G and 4G.
     
  8. darmach

    darmach Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Same thing everywhere in Europe. all GPRS/EDGE/HSDPA phones from any network will work on any other network. There is no WCDMA in Europe.
     

Share This Page

Loading...