1. Check out our app, Forums for Android! Download and leave feedback here!

Deleting the first email account I linked to the phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by carperkm, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. carperkm

    carperkm Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    15

    Apr 29, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    In my haste I linked a googlemail account to my phone which I'd rather wasn't linked to it. I've now created a new googlemail account which I want to be my main email account, however when I try to remove the old one I'm told that I need to reset factory settings, which I'd rather not do. Am I making a simple mistake?
     

    Advertisement

  2. carperkm

    carperkm Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    15

    Apr 29, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    After having a good look, it would seem the main problem that I need to solve is that the first account I linked to seems to be seen as the primary account, and the new one the secondary account. I can live with having them both linked to the phone, but I can only sync the calender from the first account, which is the account that I don't really use. Any idea how I can switch which account the phone regards as the primary account, and therefore allow me to sync the calender to my new account? Hope this makes sense.
     
  3. carperkm

    carperkm Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    15

    Apr 29, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    Just tried this, followed the instructions but it doesn't seem to do anything. Where it tells me to press clear data and clear cache, these boxes aren't lit up. I was thinking there might be something telling me how to switch my google account with a new account, as it says in the title (in the link), but it doesn't.
     
  4. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member
    163

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    If you cant get those instructions to work, then the only way to change the google account it's linked to is to do a factory reset.
     
  5. carperkm

    carperkm Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    15

    Apr 29, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    Sorry to ask such a basic question, but what exactly will that do? I presume it will take it back to exactly how it was when I got it out of the box? Any tips?
     
  6. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member
    163

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Yes, as it was before you opened the box. All settings and files wiped.
     
  7. AnthonyS

    AnthonyS Active Member
    16

    Apr 24, 2010
    43
    3
    16
    Hi, I made the same mistake initially, the factory reset does as you say, reverts the machine back to the way it was when you unboxed it, right down to the initial setup steps you need to follow. :)
     
  8. carperkm

    carperkm Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    15

    Apr 29, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    If I saved my contacts to the sim would they be wiped? Thanks for the help by the way.
     
  9. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member
    163

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Sync them with google, ensure they are in your online account first.

    Also under settings, enable backup to SD card. This will save SOME of your settings, but texts will be lost.
     
  10. AnthonyS

    AnthonyS Active Member
    16

    Apr 24, 2010
    43
    3
    16
    Shouldn't be? It gives the option to backup settings to memory card so I would image that that and the SIM would be untouched as it is just the phone being reset.
     
  11. carperkm

    carperkm Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    15

    Apr 29, 2010
    67
    0
    15
    Did a factory reset, nothing to it really, and it only took 5 minutes to get the phone back to how I wanted it. Thanks all.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...