1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Dell desktop insperion 660.. how do you connect the HDMI?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by dan330, Nov 13, 2012.

  1. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,819
    3,411
    923
    Hi,

    my buddy just got today.. a new Dell desktop Insperion 660 with Win8
    we only got the desktop box.. no Monitor.

    we already have a Samsung TV with VGA and HDMI connections.

    so connecting the desktop to the TV via the VGA.. works fine.

    when we connect it with the HDMI to the same TV it will not work.
    the TV has 4 HDMI connections and have tried them each. we have also used that TV with other HDMI players just fine.
    when we reboot the sys.. the "DELL" logo shows.. then nothing.. and "searching for signal" shows up.

    tried different HDMI cables..no change

    so, it must be a setting... but we are NOT used to the Windows8 system (new with the desktop)
    anyone know what the setting is? where it is? or what we are doing wrong?

    calling Dell support.. this thing has 1 yr warranty.. but they want us to pay $79 for the support call!!!!! NOT COOL!

    thanks guys.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    What gfx card did you get? Onboard or nvidia? Is it true HDMI or is it DVI to HDMI? Do any of the HDMI inputs on the tv also say DVI?
     
  3. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,819
    3,411
    923
    well.. in the Device Manager.. the vid driver is for: intel HD graphics.

    on the back of the desktop, HDMI connect does NOT say DVI.. it only says "HDMI"
    there are NO DVI connectors on this desktop.
    we are currently using the VGA connector.

    on the TV.. there are 4 HDMI connectors and number 1 does list as DVI.
    we have tried on HDMI connectors: 1, 2, and 4.
     
  4. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,819
    3,411
    923
    update... i just stated working.... have no idea...
     

Share This Page

Loading...