1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Desire Bravo unable to boot, recovery not working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NobodyAtAll, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. NobodyAtAll

    NobodyAtAll Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Hi

    I have had a desire bravo for about 3 years. It was originally locked to T-Mobile (UK), but I had it unlocked and have been using it on the 3-UK network for some time. (It still shows the T-Mobile logo on booting, but works OK)

    The other day, I got up and the device (which had been left on) was showing the T-mobile pink swirl, but it was static. The previous night it was working fine.

    I gave it a few minutes and then pulled the battery. On reboot, the same stuck logo comes up immediately and the phone vibrates once.

    Several reboots all produced the same result, with and without SIM and micro-SD installed.

    I then started reading and hoped that it was a software glitch which might be fixed by an update. Eventually I was able to get into the recovery menu (va the back-key and power key option, NOT the up/down keys, which do not work for me).

    On getting into this menu, I can find the Hboot info, which is below. I tried wiping cache and rebooting, also recovery, but I can never get past the pink static logo.

    Hboot info

    Bravo PVT4 Ship S-on
    HBOOT - 0.93.0001
    MICROP-051d
    TOUCH-PANEL-SYNT0101
    RADIO-5.11.05.27
    August 10 2010, 17:52:18

    I have tried to update the ROM using the guide here with a CID error (presumably because it is not a carrier ROM). I found the link to that article on here, and it seemed to be well-written and comprehensible!

    So I tried to see if I could find the serial number to create a gold card using the guide here

    Unfortunately, after installing the Google SDK and running "apd devices" in a command window, it returned no devices, even though the drivers installed properly and there are no errors in "system" (control panel)

    I tried again via GoldCardTool, but using both options (COM1, COM0) it couldn't find the CID either, presumably because it is "S-On" and I haven't been able to enable USB-debugging (as it wont boot up)

    I am now stuck with a device that I like, but which seems to have either failed or had an update pushed that didn't install properly - 3 won't give me a direct answer on the latter.

    Can anyone give me any suggestions on how I might bring this back to life . . . getting a new one is simply not an option and I use PAYG, so nothing is on offer from the carrier.

    Thanks in advance for any help
    Brian
     

    Advertisement

  2. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    It's a shame that you can't get into recovery as a cache wipe or a factory reset might solve the problem.

    You might like to try the official 2.3 upgrade which is not carrier specific so should work on any GSM Desire. You'll find a copy here http://www.shipped-roms.com/index.php?category=android&model=Bravo towards the bottom of the list.

    Boot into fastboot (from off hold the back button and press power) before running the exe file inside the zip.
     
    #2 nicka3200, Dec 18, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2014
  3. NobodyAtAll

    NobodyAtAll Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    OK thanks - I tried a cache wipe - which went fine, but factory reset would not work (it still hangs at reboot)
     
    #3 NobodyAtAll, Dec 18, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2014
  4. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    Run the 2.3. Official upgrade from the above link in that case.
     
  5. NobodyAtAll

    NobodyAtAll Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Curiouser and Curiouser . . . the upgrade ran successfully, identifying the ROM version on the phone and updating it.

    The reboots all worked fine whilst updating and it completed (apparently) successfully.

    On reboot, however, I get the HTC spash screen and (after various times of a few seconds) the phone reboots repeatedly.

    After 15 of these, I wiped cache, which succeeded and then tried recovery, but got the same reboot cycle again . . . .

    One step forward . . .

    Edited to add Hboot now showing as version 1.02.0001 and Radio as 5.17.05.23
     
  6. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    The upgrade will have updated your ROM, radio and hboot while completely wiping all cache and data. I think that rules out software issues. Unless anyone else had any other ideas I would say you have some kind of hardware problem.
     
  7. NobodyAtAll

    NobodyAtAll Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Thanks Nicka - I unfortunately agree.

    If anyone can suggest whether it is something that is likely to be recoverable, I'd appreciate it . . . I don't think it's right to treat items like this as disposable, so if it's a common issue that might be repairable, I'd like to try.

    I found it extraordinary that the upgrade program was able to identify and communicate with the device when nothing else was able to, and that the upgrade process passed off (seemingly) without a hitch (including reboots!)
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,834
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,834
    16,251
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    As long as you can get into the bootloader (fastboot mode, which is what booting while pressing the back button does) then the RUU will work. Other things require Android to be running and/or USB debugging to be enabled.

    However, I concur with Nicka: if you still have a problem after running that update package it's likely to be hardware. Very hard to say what though, if all we have is that it won't boot - there are, unfortunately, many possible reasons for that.
     
  9. NobodyAtAll

    NobodyAtAll Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Thanks Hadron - seems like it's toast then!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...