1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

desire but no Swype? :(

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dan55, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #107
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    hi all,

    im a confused new desire owner :/

    was told in the shop that my desire had 2.1 on it and swype was only available on 2.2 - when it arrives

    But just checked and phone says it has 2.2 - but no swype!? :/

    help! :)

    thanks
    dan
     

    Advertisement

  2. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Cheers, just installed it and playing with it now :)
     
  3. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    982
    248
    93
    Manchester, UK
    Bugger, it's a 10mb file and I got no spare phone storage :( another good reason to root!
     
  4. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    The one I downloaded was 17mb!
     
  5. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    Does it not have move to SD? I would love this but cant afford the memory
     
  6. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    982
    248
    93
    Manchester, UK
    It's got to be in phone memory or it won't work, it's a system file.
     
  7. kopkiwi

    kopkiwi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    287
    24
    58
    Male
    Risk Analyst
    Christchurch, NZ
    Best.App.Ever
     
  8. ianb11

    ianb11 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    513
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    513
    13
    63
    Which version is this?
     
  9. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #107
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    so why no swype on desire 2.2 but it is on sammy galaxy s ? :/
     
  10. OFI

    OFI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    580
    53
    78
    Because Samsung paid for it. htc did not.

    It has nothing to do with the Android version.
     
  11. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #107
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    bleedin cheap skates :( was really looking forward to that too :/
     
  12. snowmobile

    snowmobile Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    479
    92
    73
    Moral of the story: never rely on anything you are told in a phone shop ;)

    Many people can and do run Swype successfully on their Desire (as there was a limited beta programme available).
     
  13. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #107
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    true true :)

    right - cool - will have to get into that then

    cheers
    dan
     
  14. ukzen

    ukzen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    252
    12
    38
    Occasionally i have to change input method back to original method then back to Swype, to get it to work again
     
  15. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #107
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    hi all,
    just tried to dload and install but got a parse error - then tried to run/install from where it is on sd card using filemanager and doesnt like it

    am i doing this wrong ?

    cheers
    dan
     
  16. peter7769

    peter7769 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #399
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    480
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    480
    84
    53
    Male
    Oxford / Great Britain
    Just a small word of warning, i was thinking about updating to the new beta version, but looking on the swype forum, everybody is up in arms about it, not accurate, too slow etc etc.

    Is it just me or Swype September Update is not as accurate as previous?

    The makers are aware of these problems but say they wont have a fix until at least mid november!!

    so anyone thinking of updating..DONT, stick to version 1.60 ;)

    Pete
     
  17. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    Hi Everyone,

    I want to bring to your attention that it is against the Site Rules/Guidelines to link, distribute, share or ask for license/copyrighted applications in the thread or PM. Swype is a close beta and you need to register for to be a beta tester to get Swype or your phone has an OEM agreement that has Swype install. If these aren't the case, then you are illegally using Swype.

    Swype made it perfectly clear a long time ago that the app was copyrighted and that they would consider legal action against sites that allowed it to be distributed. The owner of AF has no inclination to attract the attention of Swype's legal team.

    /Thread close.

    -Roze-
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...