1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Desire HD now released on Telus. Will this device also work on Fido?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by _Mr_E, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. _Mr_E

    _Mr_E Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    So Telus has just released it. I'm currently on a plan with Fido that is near ending and I'm hoping I can maybe pull some things off with retention when I try and cancel the remaining months. Can I somehow get a Desire HD from Telus and have it work on Fido? Please let me know, I've been dreaming for the day I can throw my IPhone 3g at a brick wall and I'm getting restless:p
     

    Advertisement

  2. hoganalley

    hoganalley Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    you should be able to, you just need a sim card from Fido
     
  3. Tom_a

    Tom_a Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hey, I'm in the same situation as you. Also with fido, would like to get the desire HD unlocked to be used with fido/Rogers network. getting it unlocked for fido and connecting to their 3G network won't be a problem.
    One question I have.. Will the phone get HSPA+ speeds or 4G speeds on fido/Rogers network once it becomes available? or is it only going to connect to Telus LTE (4g) network that they have? See I'm not sure if there is a difference in rogers' HSPA+ network and telus' LTE network and if phones made for one network will be able to connect to the other network's 4G.
    Any ideas anyone? Thx.
     
  4. Tom_a

    Tom_a Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    2
    0
    5
  5. luke318is

    luke318is Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    147
    3
    56
    So the phone will get 3g+ or HSPA on fido?
     
  6. luke318is

    luke318is Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    147
    3
    56
  7. Dixi1801

    Dixi1801 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    212
    12
    58
    Rotherham
    couldn't you just use a sim unlock tool? not sure how these things work too well :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...